In Conversation With Pictoria Vark

In this interview, I talk with the rising indie star about her career success, hopes for 2024, and much more

Stanley C.
InTune

--

Courtesy of Pictoria Vark

Pictoria Vark is a Chicago-based, New Jersey-born singer-songwriter steadily rising in the indie music world. Critics and fans have applauded her songs for their intimate sound and Vark’s charming vocals. On his critically acclaimed debut album, The Parts I Dread, Vark reflected on her childhood and how she came to terms with her parents’ move from New Jersey to Wyoming. Suddenly faced with the identity crisis early adulthood brings to us, Vark ruminated on the existence of change in our lives and how our attitudes affect our futures despite it.

The Parts I Dread propelled Vark from an impressive Squirrel Flower bassist to a dynamic solo artist. The album made it to several publications’ 2022 end-of-year lists and made Vark a name to watch in 2023. Throughout 2023, Vark took advantage of the moment and toured the country in her most Pictoria Vark shows.

I caught Vark on her way home from a year of touring, driving from Detroit to Chicago. I let her know that I discovered her album on Bandcamp and clicked on the album due to the eye-grabbing album cover art. In this interview, I talk to the endearing artist about her early years at Grinnell College, her…

--

--

Stanley C.
InTune
Editor for

Hi there 👋🏾 I'm a music writer that posts weekly essays about albums, genres, songs, and other novel topics in the music world that span across time.