I’ve Been Waiting A Decade To See The Staves Live, And Recently, I Finally Did

A recap of an unforgettable night seeing The Staves at the Bowery Ballroom

Stanley C.
InTune

--

Courtesy of the author

This was my first time seeing The Staves live, but it wasn’t supposed to be.

In the pre-COVID days, The Staves had a Bowery Ballroom show scheduled. I had planned to attend the show, but the duo canceled it months before it came out. Defeated, I continued to watch and stream the trio’s music from afar. I’ve been a fan of theirs since 2014 when Justin Vernon worked with them on their sophomore album If I Was.

The wintery and mystical folk album swept me up immediately. I became a hardcore fan relatively fast and was quick to hear any new single, EP, or album they had. Fortunately, the group dropped frequently and, within any given year, gave the fans enough content to stay fully engaged in their progress as a group.

You can imagine my excitement when I heard they were back in town and at the Bowery Ballroom. Although it would be bittersweet to only see two of the three sisters (Emily was busy raising a family) I was exhilarated to finally hear them in person. I had been at the ballroom recently to see Ratboys and was on a high from a Sarah Jarosz show in Jersey earlier in the year.

--

--

Stanley C.
InTune
Editor for

Hi there 👋🏾 I'm a music writer that posts weekly essays about albums, genres, songs, and other novel topics in the music world that span across time.