Using Xcode Cloud With Firebase

Quinton Pryce
1v1Me Blog
Published in
1 min readJun 14, 2022

--

Do you know what’s the worst? A long intro.

Xcode Cloud Initial Setup

Apple did a lovely job of documenting the initial setup here.

I won’t dive into any setup details, but if you struggle at all with weird errors popping up, first ensure your Xcode & Mac OS are on the newest versions.

Customizing Workflows

Hats off to the iOS Dev Ops out there, but I couldn’t be happier to delete fastlane & move to the cloud.

My setup

I now have two Workflows:

  1. a debug build using Firebase’s App Distribution.
  2. a release build using TestFlight.

My additional needs

  1. Upload a build to Firebase.
  2. Upload dsyms to Firebase’s Crashlytics.
  3. Tag the build version on git.

Adding these additional features requires writing custom build scripts.

Uploading a build to Firebase

  1. Download the Firebase CLI script & zip it inside your ci_scripts folder.
    Read over the Firebase CLI Script doc if you’re unsure how to use it.
  2. Execute the upload in ci_post_xcodebuild.sh.

Uploading dsyms to Firebase

  1. Find and copy your upload-symbols script in your Crashlytics framework.
  2. Execute the upload in ci_post_xcodebuild.sh.

Create a git tag of the distributed version

Mic. Drop.

Often I tend around the bush, rather than beating straight through it. I have taken my personal Dev Ops nightmare, of learning how to customize Xcode Cloud as an opportunity to tersely document the intricacies of a Firebase configuration.

If in this article you missed the personal story, inside jokes, gifs, & LinkedIn plug, I’d invite you to look at any of Medium’s other blogs.

--

--

Quinton Pryce
1v1Me Blog

iOS Developer | Camper | Believer in Resilience