Trying Exposure Therapy

Andrew Kamal
1YearDetox
Published in
2 min readSep 28, 2023
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Some people have just been down on their luck. I feel like after trying this detox thing back and forth, it didn’t really work out. Loneliness and the sudden urges to chase positive vibes mixed with anxiety and low esteem got the best of me. This happens to too many people, especially those with too much stress going on in their lives or intrusive thoughts they cannot control.

Masking your pain and trying too hard to be a please pleaser while barely wanting to exit your comfort zone isn’t going to yield great results. Also, if you are too nice and forward with everybody, but not kind to yourself, you look disingenuine. Chivalry isn’t dead, but it has a time and a place. Society makes it hard, and being stubborn or having these woeisme moments will not make things easy.

That said, being down on my luck, it is probably time that I change my approach. Confidence is exceedingly hard to attain, and giving myself negative affirmations, these days doesn’t do me justice. Neither does being extra kind and trying to cover my insecurities by waiting forever, giving gifts, or becoming a pushover. At my best interactions for the past few weeks, I have not even entertained having emotionally connected conversations and seemed isolated enough to avoid rejection.

The anxiety monster that is in my head sometimes gets the best of me. I had years and years of different experiences with so many women who I thought were amazing only to be back on square one and feel like a pushover. I feel like I have mentally caged myself from trying as much. For example, I saw one of the most beautiful women, she smiled at me, made eye contact, and I just acted like I seen a ghost.

I didn’t even try because of a fear of rejection or public humiliation. Therefore, instead of landing myself a sweet sushi and mini-golf date, I left with feelings of regret, “what if”, and opening the door for tons of other guys with the actual courage to ask her out. This led me to think that maybe it is time for some exposure therapy. I need to actually start to practice talking to girls, step out of my comfort zone, and start taking chances. I need to embrace past rejections and even future ones as applicable and laugh it off. Life is too short for what ifs.

--

--

Andrew Kamal
1YearDetox

The dude with many different talents *Coder *Inventor *Startup Advisor *Coptic Activist *Sponsored Athlete *Blogger *Conservative *Researcher *Miaphysite