Last Minute Holiday Cards For 2021

Sara Shukla
2 Ho Ho Ho’s
Published in
2 min readDec 26, 2021
Photo by Sixteen Miles Out on Unsplash

Dear friends and family,

Oops! It’s been another slog of a year, and we didn’t take a family vacation or hold hands on the beach dressed in coordinated shades of navy. Not even once! So in lieu of holiday cards, please enjoy one of the following images that really capture me and the fam living that best 2021 life.

  • Hubs and I making plans in that one month of June that felt pretty good!
  • Hubs and I cancelling plans in August.
  • This photo of me from 2019, thinking 2020 would be My Year.
  • This photo of me from 1998 wearing wide leg jeans.
  • This blurry paparazzi pic of me dating Pete Davidson for half a day.
  • My Spotify most played list: it’s all Bo Burnham and Taylor Swift, which means I’m totally fine.
  • Me standing in a room, wondering why I went in there (ten minute version).
  • Me laying on the floor because it’s basically yoga.
  • This dinner I’ve made so many times now it’s like one of my children.
  • This pic of me watching “Succession” in the sweater I impulse bought from an Instagram ad after 1.5 glasses of wine, just before I made the three kids pose as that scene from the season finale in our gravel driveway.
  • That great pic of Ben Affleck hunched over and balancing a pile of mail and a Dunkin’ iced coffee, except it’s me, and the iced coffee is my mental health, which is so funny!
  • This email notification from my child’s school about a positive Covid case.
  • This email notification from my child’s school about a gun threat.
  • Me, screaming into the void.
  • This satellite Google image of scorched earth. Lol, that’s actually me again.

See you all in 2022! Or not! No one really knows!

Xoxo,

Sara & the fam … and Pete Davidson

--

--

Sara Shukla
2 Ho Ho Ho’s

Writing at WBUR/Cognoscenti, LA Review of Books, McSweeney’s, The Belladonna, Weekly Humorist, 2 Ho Ho Ho’s, and Dead Darlings. Sometimes editor. TV forever.