Content Creators, Don’t Get Addicted to Your Stats

Mohammed Rashid
2 min read
Published in
3 min readNov 29, 2019

--

Photo by Carlos Muza on Unsplash

Likes, followers, clicks, or earnings… stats are everywhere. They are the numbers which meant to be useful for every content creator. Content without stats is unthinkable for creators.

As a content creator, you need your stats to analyze your content as well as your audience. But that doesn’t mean you have to analyze things every few minutes.

Be it Youtube views or Blog traffic, are you a person who checks your stats every 10 minutes? The chances are high that you are probably addicted to your own stats.

Photo by Matthew T Rader on Unsplash

I had this problem when I started blogging. I would publish one blogpost and frequently check if someone had visited my blog and read my blog post. I have seen many beginners doing the same with their blogs.

This tendency made a negative effect on me because no one was visiting my blog. Even though I had a good idea that blogging is a slow process, I disappointed seeing those zero stats.

I worried so much that I stopped creating new content for my blog. I thought blogging is not for me until I got some motivation from Youtube Channels such as Income School.

I consoled myself that everything takes time and I just need to focus on creating content. After all, content is the king. I got the patience, especially the patience for not looking into the stats.

Eventually, my blog on React Native Tutorials got some recognition and started to gain traffic from Google.

But my obsession for the stats resurfaced.

How much money did I earn from Adsense? How did my last blog post perform? Many statistical questions would pass through my mind and I couldn’t stop watching these stats every free minute I get.

Photo by Webaroo.com.au on Unsplash

As a result, I wasted so much time on stats. My productivity level touched a new low. I used statistics as an excuse and procrastinated often.

Finally, I understood relying too much on stats will harm you rather than helping you. Nowadays, I check the stats only one or two times a day. That’s enough for me.

You should focus more on your creations than spending time on stats. I know that’s not easy. Take control of your curiosity every time you publish an article or video.

Don’t let your stats eat your creativity and thus your day. Develop a habit of patience to not look into your stats very often.

--

--