Why I quit social media

Dear Social Media,

Senuda Jayasooriya
2 Minute Ideas
3 min readMay 15, 2019

--

These days, Social Media is a part of our lives and we interact with it so much that we tend to miss events in our real life. In fact I wanted to test this fact and the result was shocking, I averaged 24 hours of social media use per week. That’s 1/7 of my day on the phone!

This was when I stumbled upon an inspirational video on YouTube on a channel called Yes Theory.

And during that video, he quit social media for a month to see the after effects.

Impressed, I myself walked to my room; picked up my phone; and deleted all five of social media apps on my homepage.

The relief was there, but the urge to reinstall it was endless; and I stumbled upon myself trying to pick up my phone to find the apps were no longer there.

First week

It was unbelievable, I was beginning to not miss having my phone all of the time. I was beginning to experience my surroundings to a extent I never had counted. I began to see nature as peaceful and my mind was as calm as never before.

Second week

The next week I was proud to say I am a social-media-less and the idea of having a phone steeped away. I began meditating on the mornings with the doors open and cool wind in my face, I felt real happiness.

Happiness I couldn’t ever get, staring at my friend’s party or his new shoes over social media.

Third week

Then I began reading books that had been collecting dust through the times I’ve kept them unnoticed.

Some of them were literature, so I grew a passion for poetry through this project and others were novels such as Harry Potter and The Hunger games; which took me back to the days of my younger self, when I used to read through the puzzle of words for the whole day.

Fourth week

I began interacting the way people used to, on a normal scale a few years ago.

I gave my cook a leave and started cooking, which turned out to be profoundly satisfying and fun. It give me a sense of responsibility because I knew I was going to eat what I cooked, and unless that was done in a proper mindset and patience, my lunch was going to be garbage.

Hence I learned culinary skills that I never thought I could process.

This was the final week of my project. I have taken upon a very different part of myself and the surrounding has been drastically affected which included my house, now cleaned dusted and have gotten a glow that never existed.

In fact, I’ve thought about it and come to a decision — I’m going to continue . What turned out to be a simple project has changed my life and I'm going to keep it that way.

--

--

Senuda Jayasooriya
2 Minute Ideas

Tech enthusiast. Designer. Photographer. Love shooting music between ears when I write. Teacher. Send distress signals on ig @senuda_jayasooriya