What I’ve Learned From Counting My Calories For 2+ Years

Here’s why I will probably never stop doing it for the rest of my life.

Thomas J. Hahn
Two Minute Madness

--

Photo by Ryan Stone on Unsplash

Calorie tracking is discussed broadly.

Some say it’s no fun and completely useless.

Others say it’s life-changing.

What counts for you is something you need to find out by doing it.

Two key things are tracking my macros and calories made possible for me, that have extremely profited from, and which allowed me to optimize my diet:

I realized I ate too little

About two years ago, my weight was about 63 kilos at the height of 1,82m.

I was very skinny and wondering how I could become so thin.

I constantly asked myself what I was doing wrong and why I didn’t put on mass, although I trained hard.

It wasn’t until I started tracking the calories that I realized how little I was truly eating, especially how poor my protein intake was.

When I tried to eat a lot and didn’t count macros, I felt full and thought I had been in a caloric surplus.

But in reality, I had only eaten about 2500 calories, which was my maintenance need at that time.

--

--

Thomas J. Hahn
Two Minute Madness

BA in Business; Fitness trainer and personal coach; I'm writing about Diet, Health and Fitness. 🇦🇹 IG: @tommysphysiqueupgrade