Why 9 PM Should Be Your Bedtime

Let math and science improve your Z’s.

Michelle Loucadoux
Two Minute Madness

--

Photo by elizabeth lies on Unsplash

I have an alarm that goes off at 9 pm every night. It says, “Take Your Medicine And Go To Bed”. Now, this doesn’t mean that I go immediately to sleep, but if I physically get in bed at 9 pm, I’m usually asleep by 10 pm.

And that is the goal. Here are the two reasons it’s super important to me to fall asleep while most people are still awake.

I’m a Morning Monster

I’m a good monster, though. I slay mornings. I get more done between the hours of 5 am and 9 am than I get done in the other 13 hours of my day. Now, this is me. I don’t know about you. I DO know about me.

But, here’s the thing: Do YOU know about you? Meaning, do you know the times at which you are most productive? If you do, then you should adjust your schedule accordingly.

Perhaps it’s the coffee. Perhaps it’s the promise of a new day, a clean slate, and the peeking rays of the sun shining over my neighbor’s house. Whatever it is, I am most alive in the morning.

I am focused and I am patient. At night, well, perhaps it’s the wine, the exhaustion, or the closing of the window of opportunity to get things done, but all I want to do at night is rest.

--

--

Michelle Loucadoux
Two Minute Madness

Author, educator, and self-improvement nerd. Co-founder of Danscend. My books: shorturl.at/lrtOV My email: Loucadouxmichelle@gmail.com