Why Multitasking is Scrambling Your Brain

Hint: You’re awful at it

Marina Fleider
Two Minute Madness
3 min readJun 1, 2021

--

Photo by Melani Sosa on Unsplash

Once, I was an amazing multitasker. I answered questions, checked emails, and worked through my daily projects at the same time. However, I was hurting my productivity because my brain had to adjust to each task. I was spreading my attention, so my work was less in-depth. I would sometimes even make silly errors. All that back and forth was stressful.

Multitasking: I was awful at it.

The Science Behind Multitasking

Did you know your brain can’t process two tasks at the same time? Scientists and psychologists have examined task-switching costs through brain imaging and observational studies. They determined the following:

In the context of multitasking, we know that the brain has a hard time processing and completing two or more tasks at once: the inherent ways the dorsal and ventral attention systems interact with the frontoparietal control network makes this so.

We err more when multitasking because unrelated information gets mixed in. For example, do you ever include a random word in an email from a conversation you’re having at the same time?

Splitting our focus worsens mindfulness and concentration. Ever notice how you miss critical information from a conversation if you’re scrolling through your phone?

By multitasking, we hinder our creativity and concentration even when we are working on a single task.

Multitasking: It’s Awful

Once I learned how awful multitasking is, I started paying attention to my daily routine. I logged instances of multitasking and realized I was doing it a lot. Here’s an example:

Source: Author

I was distracted and checked messages while watching TV. I answered questions, reviewed a forecast, and responded to emails simultaneously. And my quick responses exacerbated the problem by inviting a slew of follow-ups.

At the end of the day, although I was a self-proclaimed multitasker, I was awful at it.

How to Reduce Multitasking

I instilled guidelines to limit multitasking.

  • I silenced email and phone notifications and check them once every half hour. By extending my response time, I reduced the expectation of an immediate turnaround.
  • I set working windows for each of my tasks to avoid distractions.
  • When my concentration wavers, I go for a walk or switch to my next task.

Conclusion

Despite what you believe, you’re awful at multitasking. Your brain is simply not built for it. Instead, you’re harming your concentration and emotional wellbeing.

Once I limited multitasking, I became more present, creative, and a quicker problem solver. I listen more attentively and concentrate on tasks for longer periods of time, leading to better quality work.

--

--