You Are Now a Better Person Than BC (Before Coronavirus)

Lessons from a volcanic eruption.

Dr. Louise Schriewer
Two Minute Madness

--

Photo by Shawn Appel on Unsplash

I was in England for a workshop when the unpronounceable Icelandic volcano erupted.

With all flights shut down, I was one of the millions of stranded travelers. I wondered how to get back to Germany in time for a class I was giving.

Instead of driving me to the airport, my English friends dropped me off at a faraway harbor. The next available ferry was leaving the following morning, so I had to spend the night.

Since everything seemed booked out, I decided to sleep in the harbor building, but then a woman talked me into finding a hotel with her. On our way downtown, we met two other people. Soon, our ragtag group was walking from hotel to hotel to find someplace to stay.

There was another couple who opted for competition, not cooperation, and tried their utmost to hurry ahead of us searching for hotel rooms.

Eventually, we found a total dive far away that still had two rooms available… which is how I once got to share a hotel room with someone I had never met before and have never met again.

This taught that a crisis leads to people either becoming better (they reach out to others and try to be as supportive as possible like the woman had…

--

--

Dr. Louise Schriewer
Two Minute Madness

Work Happiness Wizard for passionate souls & purpose-seekers. Lawyer/academic turned professional wizard (I mean, coach...). www.workyoulovecoach.com