Short Trip to Singapore and Universal Studios

Poornima Upadhyay
A Travelling Techie
7 min readJul 15, 2019

Ever had a childhood dream? Have it been fulfilled, can you express the happiness, well let me try to explain my tale of this rare moment. Since I was a kid, I always wanted to ride a giant roller coaster and when recently my boss and his family told me about their amazing experience at Universal Studios Singapore, I didn’t even blink in starting to plan my Singapore trip. It was a three day trip, of which one day was totally dedicated to Universal Studios, but by the end of the trip I realised that 3 days weren’t enough as there are lot of things that can be done in Singapore so plan for around 5 to 7 days.

Marina Bay Sands

How to reach:
Singapore, located in south of Malaysia is an island city-state. It is home to world’s best airport Changi Airport and connected by air with almost every country. You can also take a cruise from Mumbai if you have time and interest for the same, otherwise flight is the best option, as Changi Airport itself is an tourist attraction specially after terminal 4 started which has world’s largest indoor waterfall.

When to go:
Singapore being an island city has same temperature throughout, humid and hot. Try not to plan from December to June as it is peak season, specially in January-February because of Chinese new year.

What to pack:
-Pack the most breathable cotton clothes as trust me it is very hot in Singapore, also have one light jacket or shrug to cover when indoors as Singaporean keep it super cool. Make sure you have some spare clothes as whatever you’ll wear will be drained in sweat so you might need some spare
-Carry your most comfortable flip-flops in which you can walk easily.
-Keep your umbrella handy as it literally starts to rain anytime.

Where to stay:
Singapore is one of the world’s most expensive cities, so naturally the stay will be on the expensive side. So if you are travelling on budget you can find a decent Airbnb around SGD 100 per night. Make sure it is near MRT station.

Singapore MRT

Airport to Hotel:
There are taxis and shuttles available just outside the airport which will cost you at least SGD 30. The best option I felt was Singapore MRT, just follow the sign “Train to City” on the airport and you’ll reach the MRT station. It just costed me SGD 2 to reach my hotel(You can get a tourist card for MRT which will allow you unlimited rides for that period) Upon reaching MRT station near your hotel you can either walk or take a Grab taxi, downloading the Grab app will come handy.

Day 1:
Marina bay — China town
I took an early morning flight from Jakarta to Singapore, so reached Singapore at around 10 AM in the morning. Check in at my Airbnb was after 3 PM, so I decided to checkout Changi airport as I’ve already mentioned Changi airport have some awesome things to check out, like world’s largest indoor waterfall. Also you can travel between the terminals by skytrains, isn’t it awesome!!

After my expedition Changi, I took the MRT to reach my Airbnb. Had rest for an hour and then left for Marina Bay by MRT(Marina Bay MRT station). Its a riverfront area having tonnes of things to check out like Singapore Flyer, Gardens by the Bay, ArtScience museum, light and sound show and the list goes on and on. I walked around marina bay checked out the things it has to offer, sat there for a while and chilled while watching people doing stunt on their cycles and skateboards.

Marina Bay

At around 7 PM crowd started to gather for a light and sound show that happens in front of marina bay sands every day at 8 PM and 9 PM. So I stayed to check out the show and trust me it was actually worth the wait. The beautiful fountains in sync with the sound and lights made me excited and happy like a little kid.

After the show, the hungry me decided to go to china town as I heard it has the best street food in Singapore, also you can do a lot of cheap shopping there as compared to rest of Singapore. And indeed it was one of the best street food place I’ve been to, colourfully lit market with lots of shops to eat and to buy souvenirs.

Chicken Noodles and Watermelon Juice

Day 2:
Universal Studios Singapore
Ticket: SGD 70

So the day finally arrived, it was UNIVERSAL STUDIOS time!!!!!
Universal Studios open at 10 in the morning, so I decided to go exactly at 10. I took monorail from VivoCity mall that costs SGD 4 for one side, you can also take Sentosa Boardwalk from VivoCity mall which is absolutely free, beautiful and convenient way to reach Sentosa Island(where Universal Studios is located).

Sentosa Broadwalk
Universal Studios

Though I already had all the rides in mind still I took the map which is available on the entry and planned the rides accordingly. Recommended rides to get the adrenaline rush are:

- Battlestar Galactica: HUMAN vs. CYLON: It is the world’s tallest dueling roller coasters. Ride on both HUMAN and CYLON
-TRANSFORMERS The Ride: The Ultimate 3D Battle
-Revenge of the Mummy

Battlestar Galactica: HUMAN vs. CYLON

These rides were so fun that I ended up doing them TWICE. The last ride it took was Cylon Battlestar Galactica, I was so high on the excitement that I was ready to go once again on the ride but my body just gave up and I had to stop. Just a tip that eat light before the rides.
There are various shows to check out, just need to keep in mind the schedule of the shows.

Day 3:
Singapore Flyer — Gardens by the Bay
Bought a combined ticket for both the places for about SGD 55

Singapore Flyer

Singapore Flyer is a giant observation wheel with height of 165 meters. It is located at Marina Bay so I easily reached there by MRT. 30 meters higher than the London Eye, it gives a great view of Singapore skyline. It takes 30 minutes to complete one whole round and in that half an hour I was able to enjoy the view to its fullest.

Marina Bay from Singapore Flyer

After a mesmerising ride in a giant wheel I walked to Gardens by the Bay.
Its a nature park, home to huge artificial trees named as supertree groves and variety of flaura from each of the continents, which I was really surprised to see. It is also home to world’s second largest indoor waterfall. Everything was very beautiful and so well managed that even though it was very crowded it was worth it.

Gardens by the Bay

But the best part of gardens by the bay is the light show named as Garden Rhapsody that take place everyday at 7:45 and 8:45. I reached there on time, laid down my scarf and lie on it and witnessed one of the most beautiful things while relaxing. Huge trees lightened up with the sync of pleasant music and I was so lost in it that didn’t even click a picture. The show lasted 15 minutes with which my trip to Singapore ended.

One of the many superteree grove

I went to Singapore just to visit Universal Studios because I am more of a nature lover and never liked visiting cities with huge buildings but Singapore changed my views. I enjoyed the rest of Singapore as much as I enjoyed Universal Studios. I regret planning for such a short time, but that also have a silver lining, a plan to visit again.

Thanks for reading.
Do follow to checkout my travel stories: https://www.instagram.com/2parttimetravellers/

Some tips:
- Carry your water bottle as you can drink tap water there. It’ll save a lot of money.
- Use MRT or bus to travel around the city, it is very well connected, clean, convenient and cheaper.
-Book all the tickets in advance online, I booked it through Klook App as it have some good offers.
- I am the kind of person who loves to walk, so I always have my sports shoes on while travelling and will suggest you the same.
- Carry a universal adaptor, it is very expensive there.
- In Universal Studios if the line for rides are too long, go in the single riders’ line, that is very short and will save you a lot of time

--

--

Poornima Upadhyay
A Travelling Techie

8+ years of full time software development and part time travelling