20 day habit #1–1349 kcal — Start of day.

Al Th
20 day habit change
2 min readMar 3, 2020

Here we go!

20 days holding a 1500 kcal a day limit.

Why are you starving yourself?

Actually, a human that doesn’t exercise or have any form of physically demanding job doesn’t need more than 500 kcal to function. But it’s not healthy or smart going down that low.

According to this calculator from BBC, I need this amount of calories (an average person needs 1900–2200 kcal.

30.5 BMI

That is definitely not good. Although BMI (body mass index) is very trivial at best, as muscles weigh more than fat, in my case it is very accurate.

So what does my fat percent day?

According to medical charts this is what fat percent should be at for a health, not pregnant, 18+ adult.

My fat percent is WAY above what a healthy person should have. 42.5% (at highest a few days ago at 46%).

Why 1349 kcal? Isn’t it a bit extreme?

Well, actually not.

According to the Mayo Clinic (one of the world’s leading institutions/hospital in medical research) 500–750 calorie cut is optimal if one wants to reduce belly fat and recover from obesity. If I take my recommended amount and deduct 500 kcal, you get that number!

And, if I look at my good days where I eat well, I eat 1490 kcal. Because I eat mostly vegetables, they take up a lot of room, give lots of energy but don’t overload with calories.

My biggest challenge is not snacking. Those are the days that get me.

In this I am not going to focus on my weight or my measurements. You won’t be getting them here.

The focus lies on fat percent and overall well being, and the challenge of NOT SNACKING unnecessary things.

We will see how it goes. Wish me luck!

--

--

Al Th
20 day habit change
0 Followers
Editor for

A semi anonymous wanderer that wants to explore the power of changing habits. I work as a scientist by day, but habit explorer by night. #20dayhabitchange