Erasing Boundaries. Broadening Perspectives.

A designer’s journey from Columbus, Ohio to China.

Michael Lai
3 min readJan 6, 2014

Hi CSCA! I’m Mike Lai and thanks for inviting me to share four minutes from Beijing, China.

Four years ago, I left the safe confines of Columbus, Ohio and embarked on an adventure half way around the world to Hong Kong. And as of last year, moved to Beijing, China. It started out as a way to get away, to learn something new, and to connect with the people and culture. I didn’t know how long this adventure would be, 1 year, 5 years, 10 years, or more. But I knew it was something that I didn’t want to regret not doing.

I must point out that even though I am ethnically Chinese and I look like I fit in the environment around me, I am very American. Born and raised in the Midwest, I can’t read or write Chinese, my Mandarin verbal skills are at a child’s level, and my Cantonese is nonexistent. So it’s been a learning curve, to say the least.

Living here is a constant adventure. I have an increased awareness to what locals find to be commonplace. How cars, buses, bicycles, and every imagninable type of vehicle can co-exist with people in an organic relationship on both roads and sidewalks. How massive number of people living in China all vie for limited resources, and invent creative, and often sustainable, uses of the resources available to them. How every time people exchange business cards is a mini-ceremony that is full of symbolism and respect. How at times the air quality in Beijing more toxic than an airport smokers’ lounge and how something as simple as breathable air can not be taken for granted.

But ultimately, moving to China has been about understanding people. It’s easy to judge what is foreign to us based on how the media portrays the world. But living among the locals and getting to know them allows us to see and understand the world through each other’s eyes. Eventually, we begin to see that regardless of gender, ethnicity, language, culture, religion, geography, or politics; all people all over the world are in pursuit of improving their lives within their unique contexts. With empathy and understanding, we can design experiences that improve people’s lives and resonate in deeply personal, cultural, and sustainable ways.

Since I left Columbus, I’ve been fortunate to be able to study, teach, consult, organize conferences and speak on design. These opportunites have allowed me to connect, interact, learn and share with designers from all over the world. By joining the international design community, I’m no longer defined by city, state or even national boundaries. It’s more about crossing and bridging countries and cultures. Participating in a global design conversation.

Living outside the United States, have there been struggles, challenges and disappointments along the way? Yes. Do I miss Columbus? Of course I do. It’s where I grew up and where I will continue to return.

But this experience has forced me to re-evaluate my assumptions, question my values, and even redefine my beliefs. It’s provided me with insight into people and inspiration for design. And all of this has helped me grow as a designer and as a person.

So I challenge you to get out of your comfort zone and go on an adventure. Share a bit of yourself to the world, and bring a bit of the world back to Columbus. And if your adventure brings you to China, make sure you say hello.

--

--