My DOT progress to save water (post #3)

Living up to my expectations

Santiago Duran
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 12, 2017

--

So far during my experiences I have been planning to decrease my shower time to below the duration an average American showers. An average American showers for 8.2 minutes and uses 17.2 gallons (65.1 liters) at an average flow rate of 2.1 gallons per minute (gpm). My plan to accomplish a shorter shower time and save even more water is to shower every other day and decrease my shower time even further. So far I have been able to decrease my shower time from 20 minutes to 15 minutes. But my shower time is still too high because it’s only 25% lower than before. You can access my current data by clicking here. As you can see, my current data still shows a significant improvement from my last post but I still have a lot of work to do to improve my shower time.

Also during my progress on the DOT project, I decided to research how other people around the world are saving water and I discovered the Foragua Water Fund. This company is currently assisting southern Ecuador in the protection of over 100,000 acres of forests as watershed reserves. With the addition of seven new municipalities, Foragua is located in 18 municipalities across Ecuador and protects more than a quarter of a million acres of forests that supply water to over a million people. I found it interesting people similar to me were also trying to chip in and save water. You can see their progress at this site.

Even though my shower time is still high it’s good to know other people are saving water as well and making an impact. Together we can save water for everyone’s future. We need to save this valuable resource because some people on Earth don’t have access to clean drinking water. In fact, some people don’t even have access to any water! Save water for those people and for our future.

--

--