Veganism 2.0

Inspired by Cowspiracy and Tom Brady

Ms Riggen
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

--

Full disclosure: This is my second year of choosing veganism for my DOT Project. Last year’s attempt did not result in a permanent lifestyle change. My husband was convinced he gained weight (not from muscle mass) while being vegan and I felt like the food had been too carbohydrate heavy. However, the three reasons below are enough for me to give it a second try.

Animal Agriculture Does A Number On Our Planet: Last year, one of my eighth graders, Deniz Mollazade, introduced me to the documentary Cowspiracy. This film shares a number of important facts and statistics about the planetary impact of animal agriculture, including the following:

As someone who considers herself an environmentalist, I was embarrassed to have downplayed (and been ignorant about) the widespread impacts of eating animal products. Lesson learned! Thank you Deniz.

Photo by Annie Spratt

Dairy is Baby Calf Growth Fluid: I love to eat cheese, yogurt, and ice cream. However, according to Dr. Michael Klapper in Cowspiracy, this dietary choice is one that should be preserved for baby calves.

“When you think about it, the purpose of cow’s milk…is to turn a 65-pound calf into a 400-pound cow as rapidly as possible. Cow’s milk is baby calf growth fluid.”

Klapper continues on stating physical ramifications of our consumption of dairy products — breast lumps, enlarged uteruses, fibroids, and manboobs! No thank you!

If It Works For Brady… No matter how you feel about Tom Brady and the New England Patriots, one thing is hard to argue: Tom Brady, at 39 years old, is a powerhouse who continues to perform at the top of the league. I am not too far behind Brady in years and, as a result, I am happy to take a page out of his book. While Tom Brady’s complex diet isn’t strictly vegan, it is fair to say that veganism (and avoidance of sugar) is at its foundation.

Photo by Getty Images

What is your favorite vegan recipe? I’m looking for ideas! Please post recipe suggestions in the comments section below!

Like this story? Click the heart below. It helps others see the story. Thanks!

--

--