I Create What I Speak

Sarah Case
202 Fitness
Published in
2 min readMay 1, 2014

Today, I want to talk about magic.

Do you remember the very first magic show that you attended? I do. It was actually at my birthday party. There was a clown, Freckles, and she was just as excited about it being my birthday as I was. She pulled bunnies out of hats, made color appear in a black and white scarf with no paint and even made things disappeared. I was struck in awe and wonder by her amazing skills, by her magic.

There seemed to be one word that made all of her tricks possible — abracadabra. The funny thing about this word is not the way it sounds, but what it actually is. Abracadabra is a Hebrew phrase. It means “I create what I speak.” Is that coincidental? I think not.

Freckles would say, “I am going to make this rabbit disappear. Let’s say the magic words.” We would all visualize what was about to happen, but couldn’t figure out how it was done. “Abracadabra.” Poof. The bunny would disappear. She’d say, “I’m going to make this black and white scarf a beautiful and colorful picture.” Again, we’d try to guess how it was done, but couldn’t figure it out. “Abracadabra.” Poof. The scarf would become beautiful with color.

The reason why Freckles was able to make all of her magic tricks work is because she believed in the process, and she believed in herself. She knew that her tricks were going to work because people before her had successfully done them. She made a plan, and she practiced. She went out to perform her tricks, created what she spoke, and the tricks were successful.

Displaying magic tricks believe it or not, is no different than reaching your fitness and nutrition goals. Today, I want you to visualize your goals. Think about them long and hard. Ask yourself, “How will I reach my goals?” “What am I doing to be successful?” “How have the people before me done it?”

After you have pondered for a bit, I want you to write a positive affirmation about reaching your goals somewhere, preferably where you will see it everyday, and often. Finish it by writing “Abracadabra” at the bottom. Post a picture of it here. If you can’t, no worries; just type what yours says here.

Each time that you pass your note to yourself, say your affirmation outloud. Create your own magic.

--

--