2.11 :: The last one.

Hannah Dickens
2020 Spring Capstone
2 min readApr 30, 2020

This is more emotional than I thought.

When I made the decision to attend DAAP five years ago, I never expected it to end like this. I don’t think I ever expected it to end, really. I felt like I would be in school forever. Because of this I think when graduation was cancelled, it didn’t phase me at first. It still didn’t seem like it was happening. But this week has made it real. And it’s hurt. I see friends posting pictures of their graduation anniversaries and it sucks. I won’t get to take those pictures with my friends. Or my husband, who’s earned this degree with me. I hate being publicly recognized, so I’m not mourning the parties or the event itself. It’s the thought of the last day in studio, knowing I didn’t get proper goodbyes with people I’ve come to care about so much. Professors and students included. I was the one who cried at high school graduation. I have a hard time dealing with change. So I think after all of my reflection, I’m less sad about graduation being cancelled and more sad about leaving people I love. I’ll say it — I’m sad to leave college.

Anyways, I’ll that dreary sappiness aside, I have something to celebrate. A completed capstone project!! I truly don’t think this would have been completed without coronavirus clearing my schedule so that’s a silver lining! In a few weeks I’ll be sending it to over 50 people which makes my heart really happy. And I now have a waiting list for round 2 after the Behance went up!

Thank you D.J. for being the incredible human you are to us this past year. We could not have done it without you. Literally. So without further adieu, here is my capstone. Finished.

I’m excited to say I’ve taken a job with Hambone Collective and will be working on a new book this summer for IU Press.

Real life, here we come!

--

--

Hannah Dickens
2020 Spring Capstone

Graphic Communication Design student at the University of Cincinnati.