current style frame

Defining the Chaos

Alexandra Gerome
2020 Spring Capstone

--

ASK is a [microsite] created specifically for [unrelated friends] of young adults, ages 12–24, with Asperger’s Syndrome so that they [do not feel alone] in their difficulties communicating with these individuals and, in turn, are [better equip to personably, empathetically communicate] with them.

_________________________________________________________________

This past week I worked on defining type, layouts and colors, combining the three in endless combinations to determine the best solution. This led me to discover that, while there is a specific direction I am headed in (and prefer) for these aspects, there is another defining factor that directly relates to them: lines within contours.

My original idea for this was to use specific images for each of the contours (as mentioned in a previous post); these contours were to reflect the ‘Cardinal Rules’ outlined in the content of the site (i.e. a smile representing ‘be nice’). Going forward, the idea is to adapt this concept into something more abstract– to define for the audience/user what these contours are and what they represent as opposed to using existing images. Essentially, I am going to be attributing meaning to the chaos that I am creating on the page.

I aim to explore the use of lines through a crazy, loose drawing hand while maintaining the original thought behind the contour. Which, to recap, is that contours represent the mental state of an Aspie; it is how they see and relay the world to others (in a more visual sense). The stories they tell others, the internal workings of their mind, are similar to that of the line used in a contour drawing. It begins at one point, mindlessly (yet intentionally) wrapping around the drawing and ends in a conclusion with a complete image; the audience may not follow their train of thought (the line) but the final result, the image that is relayed in the contour, is clear. In my explorations I aim to maintain this conceptualization, holding true to the roots of the image. I will define for the user what these lines are, what they represent and what they relate to, within and outside the page. I will also explore the opportunity for textures within these lines.

Additionally, I hope to explore the opportunity to implement photography on the site to provide some contrast within the existing style. I am envisioning the use of black and white images with lines passing through to maintain the existing brand guides. Potentially using silhouettes and profiles shots to represent the vague outline of a person, but not a specific person, as I am not trying to say ‘this is the face of AS,’ I am simply trying to be more relatable.

--

--