Entry 02

Joshua Hardman
2020 Spring Capstone
2 min readJan 28, 2020

In the last week, I have been continuing to refine elements of my capstone and zeroing in on what I truly want it to be, and this endeavor has been very successful and has instilled within me a passion and excitement about the project that was there before, but not nearly as focused.

My project is now a single book — an interactive book with ten prompts that go from guided to unguided, paired with a collection of inspiring and influential quotes from jazz artists and graphic compositions. The intention is to allow creative minds to loosen up and not fear improvised creating on the fly. It’s okay to create without knowing what you are going to create, and that is a process that can be learned. Through developing this skill and ability to just create, a lot of valuable ideas can emerge that could be useful outside of the creations themselves.

On a technical level, I have stripped my visual kit of parts to its essential components, developed a grid to be leveraged, and my content is in the process of being assembled precisely as I hope it to exist in the book. In the next week, I hope to finalize the outline of my book on a general level, and have all quotes/content pulled into this outline to be modified and maneuvered for the optimal outcome. As I refine my process, the outcomes of the project seem far more manageable and I feel very excited about the space I have built for trial/error of layouts and compositions for what will hopefully be a dynamic and exciting interactive piece.

--

--