Faculty Review

Sivan Dayan
2020 Spring Capstone
2 min readFeb 29, 2020

Last week was our faculty review meetings. I was nervous about mine, thinking I didn’t have enough material or things to talk about, but it went surprisingly well! The professors enjoyed my concept and current designs, and were happy with the amount of work I’ve done so far.

Some feedback I received was that the color palette was a little unbalanced, with three very contrasted colors and two that were too light on the cream colored paper. They also mentioned that the cover art feels disconnected from the rest of the book design, and that I might think about adding in the vertical text element somewhere else in the book and not just on the cover, or get rid of it completely. I received compliments on my food photography so far, so I will continue doing that style.

Another topic we discussed was the binding method, which I will be writing another more detailed medium post about, but I’m thinking more about that as well as paper types I want to use for my inside pages and cover. I’m interested in a cream colored paper for the inside, to go with my color palette, as well we a dark blue thicker paper for the cover that is similar to the dark blue in my palette as well. I chose these because they’re similar to the stereotypical blue and white colors usually associated with Judaism and the Israeli flag.

Overall, the faculty review went well, I got helpful feedback on my design style and binding methods, and I’m ready for the last leg of this project!

--

--