Here we go

Maria Fisher
2020 Spring Capstone
2 min readFeb 17, 2020

Animation time!

So I’ve been working on animating my style change in my video and I’m realizing that it’s a bit harder to do character animation than I anticipated. I knew it was going to be quite a task but now actually getting into it, it’s taking me a long time to get what I want. Thank God I cut down the amount of times my detective appears in my video. I still think I can do it, it just might not be a smooth as I wanted.

I had to cut this down and optimize it quite a bit to post on here so quality is not great.

So here’s what I have so far. I am DEFINITELY still working on it and need to animate the second, lighter version of the detective, but I think this gives a good vision for what version ONE is for my style change. A simple quick cut to the light turning on. I think there is more opportunity to bring more life into this transition. Like maybe all the 3D furniture goes off screen and is replaced by the stroked background? I don’t know. I will still have to play around with it.

Now that our DAAPworks show is focused on our individual stations, I’ve started to think about what I want at my table. Julia mentioned to me that it would be good to have something on my table that briefly talks about my project and what it is about for people that aren’t going to stand and watch my video for 2.5 minutes. It’s interesting to think about because my Capstone is really not just my Capstone. I need to think about how it’s being viewed and what if people weren’t going to view the whole thing? What supporting elements can I provide? It’s a lot but I’m still excited to see how it’s going to turn out. My supervisor at work also just asked me when the show is going to be so I got to show up and have something I am proud of for them as well. I want this to show what I can do and what I am interested in. But I was talking to Cara and Hannah and how we expect things to turn out perfectly but in reality, we are just getting started in our careers. And things that we see everyday in the professional world have had years and years of experience behind them. So why are we putting so much pressure on ourselves to make a perfect project for this? WE WILL GET THERE. AS LONG AS WE KEEP TRYING AND PRACTICING.

“Your taste always exceeds your ability” — a quote Hannah told me about

--

--