Takeaways

Jared Ziegler
2020 Spring Capstone
1 min readMay 4, 2020

I want to take some time to reflect on some of the lessons I’ve learned from the process of making this film.

  1. Sound is just as important. The sound design of this film ended up being just as important to the film as any visual element. It became the emotion of the film and let the viewer inside the mind of Angelica, even when she wasn’t aware of what was going on in her mind. It also was a huge help in editing. Adding sounds in between cuts would save time in terms of production but also kept up the pace.
  2. Build out strongest parts first. I did this intuitively and it was working really well for me, so I continued. I would make the scenes that I knew had to be in it first then lay those out and slowly fill in the blanks once I had developed the script fully.
  3. Know constraints early on. This may seem obvious in terms of design, but what I mean by constraints here is more so about what it possible and what is not. I had to make it work with the programs I knew and had available to me. I had one person to use for the rotoscoping, so I made the story about one person. So on and so forth. This helped me manage my expectations early on.

--

--