The Crits Round 2

Maria Fisher
2020 Spring Capstone
2 min readMar 10, 2020

Again, it was a lot.

Somewhat helpful. But a lot. I think having four rounds is one too many. By the third/fourth round, I hear the same thing over and over again. It’s a bit overwhelming.

Anyway here is where I’m at. A hot topic of my critique was color. Maybe taking a second look at what I have for my second style and cutting down the amount of colors I have. DJ mentioned picking 3 colors and just using values of those colors, which I think is a good way to go. He also mentioned toning down the colors. Maybe making more serious? So here is where I’m at:

As you can see I’ve toned down colors quite a bit. I think it helped a lot. As for the room, I reserved most of the color for the detective. One thing I want to still work out is the skin tone. The skin tone was brought up during my critique and it was suggested maybe having a color that is obviously not a real skin color would be better. But everything I try turns out looking very strange and misplaces. So that is something I feel I need to figure out.

Another thing I needed to correct was certain ways I was portraying elements in my storyboard. So I’ve gone back and made some curved objects angular making them fit better into my style.

So as for actually animating, my schedule is a little behind since I had to rework some visuals. I redid my wordmark animation with some edits and color correction. But I feel I will get back on track this week with animation.

--

--