Thinking Larger

Alexandra Gerome
2020 Spring Capstone
1 min readJan 18, 2020

ASK is a [microsite] created specifically for [unrelated friends] of young adults, ages 12–24, with Asperger’s Syndrome so that they [do not feel alone] in their difficulties communicating with these individuals and, in turn, are [better equip to personably, empathetically communicate] with them.

_________________________________________________________________

Getting back into the groove of capstone this semester I decided to tackle it from a different perceptive. Initially, I went into this thinking of myself as the designer and, secondarily, as a potential user; but as I see it now, I am the — the bridge between the users and the interface. I am the creator of the content, the dictator of the imagery and the reason that they will, or will not, understand the primary message. My job is important.

This is why I decided to take another pass at the content that I am showing on the site. I feel that, as it is (or, rather, was), it is too lengthly to grasp in quick glances; less people are likely to absorb the important information that I am trying to communicate to them. So, I went ahead and rewrote my content to reflect this.

Additionally, I released a survey asking participants to share experiences and personal knowledge of/with individuals with AS in their own lives. This aims to further shape my website content. If anyone so wishes to help with this process, the link to the survey is here: https://geromeal.typeform.com/to/YUlbPU.

--

--