visual identification

Alexandra Gerome
2020 Spring Capstone

--

ASK is a [microsite] created specifically for [unrelated friends] of young adults, ages 12–24, with Asperger’s Syndrome so that they [do not feel alone] in their difficulties communicating with these individuals and, in turn, are [better equip to personably, empathetically communicate] with them.

_________________________________________________________________

This week I focused on identifying ASK as a visual brand. I wanted to make it clear that ASK, as it is, is meant to say “ASK about AS” or “ask about asperger’s syndrome.” I dove deep into the abyss that is the internet (and my design brain) and came up with 20–30+ ideas on how this could potentially be represented. Above are a few interpretations that I have identified.

As is is, I feel that highlighting ‘AS’ within ‘ASK’ is the best avenue of identifying and calling out this message. Further, the organic shape that is this sort of ‘pebble’ around ASK, seems to represent the brain that is the mind behind the message. User testing would have others agreeing with me, but what do you think?

Further, I did some testing or, rather, sampling of my families drawing techniques as I acquired their help with my blind contours. I had them sit down with me and sketch out, in single line contours (without looking at the page) each of the below prompts, representing one of the identifying subtitles of my content:

  1. the intro, a face (representing the whole person)
  2. an AS, for AS (asperger’s syndrome)
  3. ‘be nice’, an outreached hand (a helping hand)
  4. ‘be patient,’ folded hands
  5. ‘listen carefully,’ a hand cupping an ear
  6. ‘pay attention,’ a squinting eye
  7. ‘instruct,’ a pointing finger
  8. ‘the bottom line,’ feet standing on a line (representing the summary/ending)

Each of these is a piece of the body, meant to dictate that, as a person you can affect the lives of those around you– in this instance, those with AS. I would like to further explore the opportunity for line contours via the use of a single body part with each corresponding subtitle and, additionally, the opportunity for adjacent ‘call outs’ within the text.

For next week I aim to have additional visual identities processed and complete with three layout options for the content (wireframes, etc.).

--

--