Week 12

Ben Koch
2020 Spring Capstone
3 min readApr 5, 2020

This past week I spent some time refining my animation by mainly looking back at some of the biggest feedback I received over the past few weeks and finally applying them! I’m happy with the changes so far, but the “swiping and scrolling” animation seems rough/out of place to me, not sure if it simply doesn’t fit or just needs the motion refined.

After I get that problem resolved I'm not sure what else I need to do for the animation. I can always keep editing and changing things up for weeks and weeks, but gotta call it finished eventually. One thing I can start to think about in-depth is whether or not I want to create a square version of the animation to fit on social media or not. If I do go down that route I could potentially create an Instagram account for Opt-Out and use the booklet I’ve been working on as more content on the subject.

?!? Even though I really like the idea of having a physical part of my capstone to go along with the digital animation. I'm still torn on whether or not it's useful since our in-person show has been canceled. Also, how can I unify these two under one deliverable, since our display table is no more? I'm open to hearing thoughts on this and how I should move forward!

Below are the current booklet spreads:
I updated the style since last week and refined some content that's not shown here. I know this is an unnecessary project to take on, but I do really like the idea of having a more in-depth look at why we should embrace boredom on top of the animations summary. I already have the content, so my biggest worry is how to tie this into one deliverable, or should I just keep it a booklet and make this a side project that isn't a part of my capstone deliverable.

--

--