Week 3

Sivan Dayan
2020 Spring Capstone
1 min readApr 1, 2020

I think this is the week that my mindset changed towards this whole process. I’d been so focused on getting the pictures of my recipes taken, that I had been neglecting all other aspects of the project. And because I wasn’t able to take the photos yet, nothing was getting done and I was feeling so stuck.

My individual meeting with DJ this week was super helpful, because he told me I could focus on the layout of my book, and just add the images in later. Which might sound like such a simple solution to most people, but when you’re so hyperfocused in on one aspect, as well as being burnt out and stressed, it’s hard to look at your project from another angle. Which is why it’s so important to talk with others about your work or problems, and get new perspectives that could help you change your whole outlook.

Before my meeting that day, I baked some challah for the first time. After class, I felt relieved and more able to move forward, and took my first recipe photo:

--

--