Week 4: Feedback

Mailcole Mamo
2020 Spring Capstone
2 min readFeb 12, 2020
Cover options

I walked away from this past week’s group critiques with a lot to think about. I came in with two options for visual directions — one that was more vibrant in color and another that was a bit more natural. A lot of the feedback I got said that the pages feel like they could exist in the same system which I could understand since the visuals were representing different aspects of the same culture. Hearing that bit of feedback multiple times told me I should move forward with elements of both of the directions when creating my final visual system.

One piece of feedback I kept hearing was to simplify. Taking a step back I definitely saw that the instruction page had a lot going on in it. I also saw that all of the moving parts on the page started to make the information harder to access. I’m going to go into revisions with that advice and keep the instructions fairly clean. Other pieces of advice I’m going to move forward with is repetition of title pages in a legible font, getting rid of the word “instructions”, and trying to feature the Amharic words more prominently. In the end, from the two options I showed there was a fairly clear winner amongst the people I talked to. However, it was the option I saw less of myself in. In the coming week I want to go back, pick through the feedback and start to shape my final visual direction. I hope to have the start of a style guide and layout guide by the end of the following week.

--

--