21 Day Fix Extreme…It Begins!

Chelsea Katt
21 Day Fix Extreme
Published in
4 min readAug 5, 2015

It’s a new month and a new beginning! With exactly 21 days until my last fall semester begins, I’ve decided to spend the last few weeks of summer dialing in on my nutrition and exercise. Unfortunately, I’ve kind of unintentionally halted exercising since finishing Insanity: Max 30 (my personal favorite) and am a little disappointed I haven’t been maintaining this summer as well as I hoped due to a lack of focus on nutrition.

What better way to spend the next 21 Days than completing 21 Day Fix Extreme, an awesome program created by Autumn Calabrese that focuses not only on workouts, but nutrition as well.

I want to use this publication to record my work and progress a couple of times a week to stay motivated and show that if you execute this program the way it says, you’ll see some cool results!

So, here’s to the next 21 days of hard work, determination, and no gin and tonics. :)

Let’s Get Started

Measurements

Measurements are so important! It’s awesome to see the changes your body has made and the results of your hard work! If you don’t take before pictures and measurements, you’ll truly regret it in the end.

Obviously, I’m not a fan of my measurements right now, but I know I can get to where I want to be.

Day 1: Done!

Arm: 11 in

Thigh: lower 18 in upper 23 in

Waist: 34.5 in

Chest: 39 in

Hips: 38 in

Weight: 159 lbs

Nutrition

Following the 21 Day Fix nutrition plan is a breeze, as long as you are prepared. Don’t be scared by this. Spending 2 hours at the beginning of the week figuring out what you will eat to get all of your containers in and preparing it for the week is fun! You won’t stray from the program if you have a fridge full of delicious and nutritious food waiting for you! Plus, nutrition is so important to getting results.

Meal Prep: Don’t Be Prepared to Fail

There’s nothing better than a lime La Croix…

Once you get the hang of the 21 Day Fix nutrition program, it’s a breeze! To begin each week I look at how many of each container I am allotted and started filling in each meal until the right amount of each color is reached. I followed the fix nutrition during Max 30, so it’s become pretty simple to do. I start on paper and then color coordinate each food using an excel sheet.

Breakfast: I start my morning with my usual breakfast: oatmeal with a banana and peanut butter and a cup of black coffee.

Shake: While unpacking groceries and making food for the week I sipped on a chocolate shake made with leftover coffee from the morning. Whoa, it was amazing. This is going to become my everyday shake!

Kale and Chard Salad

Lunch: This week I’m really hitting the kale hard. I ate a lot of kale last summer when I was doing T25 and I’m excited to eat it regularly again! Lunch this week is going to consist of a yummy kale salad bursting with colorful superfoods: kale, chard, grape tomatoes, blueberries, pumpkin seeds, shredded carrots, olive oil, and balsamic vinegar.

I also made a favorite of mine as an alternate to the kale salad.

Cabbage stew with diced tomatoes and ground turkey. It’s easy to make and super filling!

Dinner: Super simple, quinoa (s/o to my Mom for picking me up a new bag), and chicken. Later in the week: turkey burgers on whole wheat bun with a side kale salad.

Workouts: Let’s Get Physical

The workouts amaze me, being used to Insanity and Shaun T programs, the way Autumn incorporates the weights really challenges you and after a few days I’m already feeling it!

I also managed to pack disc one of the program in the process of moving but thankfully Beachbody on Demand let’s me stream the program!

I’m halfway through the the first week and I feel determined. I’ll cheers a lime La Croix to crushing the rest of the week.

--

--