Hot Water

Lincoln Eather
2 min readFeb 25, 2015

So amazing! So soothing! So warm!

How good is hot water?! It’s past amazing, and it’s something I am really, really grateful for. When I lived up in Ballina I thought hot water was nice, but not ‘bowl you over’ amazing. It was good. It wasn’t until I moved to Torquay in chilly Victoria that my gratitude for hot water stepped multiple levels…

When you surf down here in the middle of winter the ocean temperature can sit at around 10–12 degrees (celsius), which with today’s wetsuits is more than bearable. It’s when you come in, or you stay out too long, or you forget your booties that your gratitude for hot water hits new levels…

You see, when you’re walking up the path at Winki after surfing for too long and your feet are just feeble nubs of pins and needles, it’s the thought of the hot water shower that get you through. It’s the idea of a steaming hot water running down your face, body and onto your hoofs that make surfing down here tolerable (I’m glorifying it, a lot).

But I love hot water. In the mornings, afternoons, evenings. I even have an outdoor shower that spits out hot water. Showering outside is amazing, another thing I’m grateful for.

It’s hot water tho that I’m really grateful for today. I know in a couple of hours when I slide under the steamy water and hits my back, I’ll be feeling relaxed and content.

Yes to hot water!

--

--

Lincoln Eather

Enjoys: getting lost :: marketing :: surfing :: empireave.com :: getting up early :: researching online/digital :: improving :: imagining ::