How to cheat your way through life 101

Joshua Kaufman
2100
Published in
1 min readNov 16, 2018

I have discovered a cheat code that is usable in real life. It’s a real-life cheat code. And it's insane, let me tell you, believe me.

Over the last 20 hours, I downloaded 10 years of someone else's work into my brain. 10 years in 20 hours. That’s half a year per hour, three days per minute, 1.2 hours per second. The return on time is 4,380x. You may be wondering what cutting edge technology I use, and I am excited to share it. This technology is called “Book”.

It’s been around for a few thousand years but it seems to have been forgotten in these recent decades. As a pioneer in reintroducing this technology into mainstream society, I take pride in being the harbinger.

In all seriousness, it is easy to get lost in the dopamine rich applications that seem to be integrated into society. Controlling consumer mindshare is very valuable to companies, but what is good for them sometimes isn’t good for you. If success, in the traditional sense, is what you are looking for, know that you will not find a successful person who will claim reading was a waste of time.

If you want to find good books in a genre you’re interested in, I recommend the free app Goodreads. Beyond the standard search and user reviews, it gives you a good way of tracking the books you want to read, are reading, and have read.

Good luck!

--

--