Eat the frog first — no thanks

Why eating the frog first is not a good strategy for Neurodivergent people

Sharon Dale
21st Century Mindset
2 min readJan 22, 2024

--

Have you read Eat That Frog!: 21 Great Ways to Stop Procrastinating and Get More Done in Less Time by Brian Tracy? Has it worked for you? If not you are not alone. The idea sounds reasonable. Get the icky thing done first so you don’t have to worry about it later but as an ADHDer I find that I need an easier start to productivity. Eating the frog is too hard and will cause *me* to procrastinate.

One of the things which works better for me is to have some early success, e.g. by ticking some easy small things off my list or getting more clarity on the thing by giving myself some time to do some research or brainstorming.

Once I have got smaller, easier things done I might be ready to tackle the frog. I might still need help in the form of encouragement, more information or just body doubling to get into it but once I have started I am more likely to complete the big job.

Do you agree? What do you find easy to do and what is harder?

If you are struggling with lack of traction due to ADHD challenges book a 30 minute discovery call to see if I might be the right person to help.

--

--

Sharon Dale
21st Century Mindset

I help women navigating constant brain fog to thrive without adding to their overwhelm, by providing accountability & support.