Weeknote S10:E09

Theme — Waiting to exhale

Sharon Dale
21st Century Mindset
4 min readJun 14, 2024

--

Weeks are the four-on-the-floor kick-drum of eternity” Russell Davies

This has been one of those weeks where I feel like I have not stopped, but when I come to reflect it is difficult to quantify. I have had lots of conversations in the past few weeks along the lines of “nothing is moving, no-one is making decisions to make things happen”.

It feels like everyone is holding their breath, perhaps for the election in the UK. It has felt like that for some time though, lack of commitment to a direction, a reluctance to spend money. Perhaps the holding of the breath actually started around the time of the pandemic, or 2008. No wonder we all feel a bit dizzy and light headed.

The majority of the work I have on at the moment is coaching, support and accountability work for people, a couple of Access to Work applications in flight and a thinking partnership helping a fairly newly diagnosed woman ADHDer think about when she does her best work and what support she needs in place.

I have been preparing for my next talk in Leeds on 3rd July at Agile Yorkshire, I have a few slides taking shape. I also got an email with my average feedback for Agile Manchester this week which was nice.

  • Average score for Content: 4.67
  • Average score for Usefulness: 4.50
  • Average score for Speaker: 4.33
  • Average score Overall: 4.50

I had a couple of lovely catch ups with people and hosted Get it Done on Tuesday and Thursday. I have changed the platform to Zoom and will see how that goes. I had a great session on Tuesday with a person who was so focused that I had to leave a message and drop off as I didn’t want to disturb them.

I finally downloaded all of the stuff I had on Evernote a few months ago and I found a way to extract the files (mostly PDFs) without buying anything so I have been doing that. It is very slow and laborious. Si Wilson was talking about Moving Miro boards in his weeknote and this feels the same.

You’ve not lived until you’ve transferred over 150 Miro boards to another account. It’s just so so one at a time, so so manual, one by fucking one. It’s good in a mindless way, get the rhythm going and spin an album while you do it. It’s absolute crap in a way as someone who likes to think about how things end. (Cue obligatory shout out for Ends.) Made me miss a graphical user interface that allows me to just group things and then send them somewhere, with several clicks, a few moves of the wrist and done.

I found that my website was not showing up this week and had to contact someone to help with the DNS settings, a couple of days later it was still not showing for me so I got in touch with them. It was showing for them and then for me on my phone so I had to clear my cache.

I had another great session with Matt’s Solo Collective learning about No code tools.

I set up the next Liberating Structures Virtual Session for the 18th June in which we will play with the Ecocycle. Please join us if you can.

Mum had her final double extraction at the dentist today and so she is happy although not smiling until the Lidocain wears off. Before we went Dad was showing off walking without the zimmer frame, but with it close by, just in case.

Last week they bought some meals from Cook in Dorchester. They were a great success and so I was sent to get more this week.

Dad decided to go back to using his Mac again this week so I set it up (it was not unset from last time so easiest job ever).

The boat trip last weekend was good, I did get splashed a little and the water was very cold but generally it was nice, not too hot and sunny. It was nice to see Weymouth and Portland from a different angle. Betty the dolphin did not make an appearance sadly.

Next Week

Next week looks like it might be a repeat of this one. The following week (24th — 30th June) is World Wellbeing week and so I am offering as many 90 minute sessions as I can fit in that week for Immediate Impact sessions for people who want to move something forward.

Have a great weekend

--

--

Sharon Dale
21st Century Mindset

I help women navigating constant brain fog to thrive without adding to their overwhelm, by providing accountability & support.