Exploring My Ricoh GR IIIx

Your Imaging Performance Without Compromise

Amit Karmakar
A Moment in Time
Published in
3 min readOct 24, 2021

--

The positive film, grain, ceramic roses that’ll never die and Ottolenghi’s cookbook, what more could you possibly want :)

I consider myself to be lucky to have received the Ricoh GR IIIx in my hands pretty early on here in Australia. There is, as you’d know, a worldwide shortage of manufacturing material post-pandemic. Everything is on backorder, and things are taking longer than usual. But I got lucky. Thanks to Joel and his excellent team at Digidirect, Sydney.

My Ricoh past life

My first Ricoh was a GR II back in 2016. A shot with my then-GR II was part of an exhibition in Melbourne VAC(Public Records Office Victoria) in 2017. In 2019, I got the Ricoh GR III and last week - the GR IIIx. I like Ricoh’s process of putting the photographer front and centre of the game. It’s simple, effective and honest.

My Ricoh GR IIIx

It has been a week, and I’m enjoying the exploration. I like the new 40mm equivalent; it feels more natural than 28mm. I like the ever-so-slight improvement in speed and sharpness and the massive overhaul on the syncing with iPhone. Oh, this is beautiful.

I love this tiny magic machine's High Contrast B/W and the Positive film simulation. If you ever come across this camera, no matter how much you might hate its cheap plastic body try out the simulation. It will leave you…

--

--

Amit Karmakar
A Moment in Time

👑 Top writer in Ideas. Author of ‘Big Little Things’. I write about different things, sometimes about writing, watercolours or photography.