Student Spotlight: Mina Begum

Carrie Roberts
23 Code Street
Published in
2 min readJan 7, 2020
Here’s Mina!

Mina Begum is a graduate of our first-ever web development foundation course. Graduating from University with a degree in Journalism, she travelled and worked in Amsterdam, before spending two years as an account manager at a corporate accelerator in London. She currently works as a scouting manager for L Marks.

Q: Why did you join us at 23 Code Street?

A: Ever since I started working in tech, I’ve been super fascinated by how a product is built. I used to look over my colleague’s shoulder and see him typing letters, numbers, and using all these symbols in one line! I was taken aback- I didn’t have a clue what was going on. It’s definitely an interesting/complex world. I chose 23 Code Street for three reasons:

  • They will teach a disadvantaged woman in India how to code and give her the necessary skills to get into employment. This reason, in particular, is close to my heart.
  • It’s exclusively women and, on our cohort, taught by women- they want to encourage women to get into tech.
  • It’s affordable!

Q: What do you love about coding and what do you hate!?

A: I love that it’s so challenging and you have to think really hard to fix a problem. However, when you see the end result, it is truly satisfying. And I can understand what techies are saying….a little bit!
I hate when I can’t figure out why my code isn’t working. If you don’t get the syntax right or forget to add a semicolon at the end, you’ll be trying for ages to figure out what happened. I struggle with JavaScript. It’s not very kind to me.

Q: What do you plan to do with your new-found coding skills?

A: I plan to be competent at programming! I’m going to be very happy to say I have this skill and next time when I see someone coding away, I won’t be so overwhelmed by it.

Q: One random fact.

A: New Zealand will deny people residency visas if their BMI is too high.

Our next Web Development Foundation course starts on the 30th of January 2020. You can find out more and apply here, or drop us any questions at hello@23codestreet.com.

--

--