Bridges

Tre L. Loadholt
A Cornered Gurl
Published in
2 min readJan 5, 2017
Photo Credit: All Mine.

We no longer talk. There is a wall between us blocking our voices, boomeranging our thoughts.

We knew it would come to this; holding on to let go.

I thought I saw your sister, but I was mistaken.

Seeing things. Seeing people who do not belong.

If one more person asks me how you’re doing, I am going to lose it! How do you tell someone, "I don’t know" without sounding like you do know?

Fact of the matter is, I knew for so long, it’s hard not to know.

But, I don't anymore.

At 25, we tried again. Why? Weren’t the bridges already burned? Whose idea was it?

It was mine. Aah, yes. It was mine. I wanted to see if we could rise above my mistakes and move on.

We couldn't.

A parted sea greeted us just to throw us into a whirlpool of terror and fleeting feelings.

There was nowhere to turn. There was nowhere to run. We had lived our last life together and dying was inevitable.

I remember 16. It was easier with you. 25... 25 became a sword meant to cut us in half and it did.

Every memory of us lies beneath a battered bridge on the verge of collapsing.

Would you cross it?

I wouldn’t.

--

--

Tre L. Loadholt
A Cornered Gurl

I am more than breath & bones. I am nectar in waiting. “You write like a jagged, beautiful dream.” ©Martha Manning •https://acorneredgurl.com