Marko Ciciliani on his work “11 Rooms”

sandris murins
25 composers
Published in
2 min readDec 8, 2022


Watch my interview with new music composer Marko Ciciliani on his work “11 Rooms”. It is a concert work that expands beyond the concert space. While it already starts in the entrance hall in front of the auditorium, it ends in the virtual space by inviting the audience to load a website with sound and video on their mobile phones. Artistically, 11 ROOMS investigates notions of private and public space. Marko Ciciliani developed it specifically for the members of KLEXOS whose four saxophonists provided him with various videos of their daily domestic and music-related routines. This material he combined with a virtual 3D house that the multimedia performer of KLEXOS (its 5th member) navigates in during the performance. Those actions in the virtual space are in direct interaction with those performed by the saxophonists.

Watch my interview:

Watch the documentation of the piece:


Source: Marko Ciciliani

Marko Ciciliani is a multimedia music composer and performer based in Austria. Interactive video, light design, and laser graphics often play an integral part in his compositions. His works have been programmed by festivals for post-avantgarde music such as Donaueschinger Musiktage, Wien Modern, Ultraschall Berlin, Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, or Maerzmusik. He is a Professor for Computer Music Composition and Sound Design at the Institute for Electronic Music and Acoustics (IEM) of the University of Music and Performing Arts Graz.