Learning piano with AI

by asking chatGPT-3.5 to teach me

--

I’ve been jealous of people who play piano. I always wanted to learn it myself, but I didn’t really put in the effort. I could only play 1 or 2 simplified versions. No music lessons since high school, doesn’t play any instruments and very bad at singing. Can I learn piano?

So first things first. Basics. I started out by asking “What is the piano?”, “What is the history?”, “What are the types?”…

ChatGPT 3.5

I guess the standard ones have 88 keys but there are keyboards with fewer keys. For beginners, I don’t think it matters.

So, apparently, it is kinda “new” instrument, created in the 18th century, which is the updated version of the harpischord. An Italian guy decided to make it better and voila… piano was born. (Bartolomeio Cristofori)

The main difference is that harpischord is 1 volume. There is no low or high but in piano if you hit the key harder VOLUME increases. Also, volume and tone can vary depending on the force with which the keys are pressed, allowing for a wide range of dynamics and expressive possibilities.

Ok, enough about history. Can you chatGPT teach me?

“Of course” it says. Yes, I have a Thomann sp-320, my son uses.

So, yes 88 keys. Some are black, some are white and it repeats. The black keys are called sharp (#) or sometimes flat (b). Hmm… not gonna dive deep right now.

Piano keys with notes

But why is it A, B, C, D, E, F, G?

Just practical eh? Wait a minute… but I know Do-Re-Mi is it different?

#DoReMiFaSolLaSi

So, Do=C, Re=D, Mi=E and it goes on. Ok but why does A-B-C start at C?

Actually, the very first key (left-bottom) is A, and the last one is C. However, it is easier to learn using C major (middle C). And there was something about “natural scale” which I don’t really understand fully. So let’s skip it for now.

Standard piano 88 keys

Ok, enough about history and notes. What is important when learning?

Of course regular practice with proper technique. Sitting straight, hands at 91? degree, curved fingers and slightly elevated wrist.

Piano posture

Also, it is easier to have each finger numbered. C = R1

Piano finger placement

One important thing is to have realistic, specific goals. I will just learn the basics and play 1 song. What next? #Practice

So, all I gotta do is practice daily for (at least) 15 minutes with both hands playing exercise and “Twinkle twinkle little star”.

C   C   G   G  A  A   G
Twinkle, twinkle, little star

F F E E D D C
How I wonder what you are

G G F F E E D
Up above the world so high

G G F F E E D
Like a diamond in the sky

C C G G A A G
Twinkle, twinkle, little star

F F E E D D C
How I wonder what you are

I will get back to you in a month or so 🎹

--

--

Билигүн.Б (Програмч аав)
2B +1% better 2day

I am who I am... || өөрийнхөөрөө байхаас ичихгүй