Big Trade Leads To New League Structure: Week 5 Fantasy Predictions

Billy Wood
2nd Take
Published in
6 min readOct 7, 2022

Last weeks predictions were not the best. That being said, it was my first time doing it so cut me some slack. I went 2–3 last week, correctly picking Alejandro to beat Meeks and Dan to beat Kyle in our primetime matchup. I was wrong on predicting me to beat Ethan (Depression), Michael to beat Aidan, and Sam to beat Alex (How did this one happen). That Alex game was absolutely insane. Alex put up 132 points after scoring only 60 the week before. Everyone on his team just decided to have the best week of their career and insult my “Sam by a million” quote. I was incredibly wrong. Anyway the first trade of the season was made this week, I’ll get into that later in the article, but it was quite the move for two teams.

Season Prediction Record: (2–3)

Sam (1–3) (West 3) VS Aidan (3–1) (East 2)

My 100% confidence in Sam’s fantasy team is 100% gone. Sam failed to beat Alex last week in what could be seen as the upset of the century. My “Sam by a million” quote looks incredibly bad right now. That being said I still do like his team this week. Jalen Hurts will tear up the Cardinals secondary and all three WR matchups look incredibly favorable. I don’t love playing Dallas’ defense against two of your own players, and at this point people know my dislike for James Conner. Aidan’s team seems to be doubling up on a lot of teams, but I love his matchups. Adams and Jacobs should eat against KC and Higgins and Burrow will play great against a Baltimore defense that has been getting torn apart. I expect a little more from Kittle this week and a continuation of Deebo’s dominance. Give me Aidan in a close one.

Meeks (1–3) (West 4) VS Alex (1–3) (West 5)

Having the Thursday Night football results definitely help me out on this one. The Broncos players on Alex’s team have really let him down this week after popping for him in week 4. David Montgomery can’t be trusted and neither can DJ Moore or Amari Cooper. New England will contain Hockenson and I see Jefferson as the only one here who could do much. Meeks got robbed a little from the Nyheim Hines injury and I should note made some questionable moves early this week. Meeks decided to release Kareem Hunt to pick up a second kicker. You do you dude, but that was one of the stupidest moves I’ve seen in a while. Funny thing is that the majority of the league probably would’ve given you a pretty good package for him. Now Sam gets him for free. Anyway, I like pretty much all of Meeks’ roster. The running backs have easy matchups and AJ Brown should eat against Arizona. Alex won’t be that lucky this time. Meeks by about 15.

Ethan (2–2) (East 4) VS Dan (4–0) (East 1)

This matchup between Ethan and Dan is a key one and one that I think could be a big upset. Ethan beat me pretty good last week and Dan pulled out a win against Kyle. I really like Ethan’s chances here. Both teams got pretty equal performances out of their Thursday night players and I like Ethan’s matchups far more. Herbert and Ekeler should be able to pull apart Cleveland’s defense and Mixon Vs Baltimore might be a cheat code. Terry McLaurin is due for a big performance and Tennessee doesn’t seem very daunting. I don’t love Pitts, but Dameon Pierce is a sure fire 15 point scorer Vs the Jags and San Francisco should be able to take advantage of Baker Mayfield. Dan’s team still looks very good this week. Dan has good matchups with Dallas Goedert in Arizona and Tyreek Hill in New York. What concerns me is the Packers line against Saquon Barkley and Breece Hall against Miami. I have a hunch that both won’t perform up to par this week. Especially with Saquon playing in England. I also don’t trust Josh Allen against Pittsburgh. I think Dan is gonna have a rare down week. Upset, Ethan gets a close win to dethrone the unbeaten.

Me (1–3) (East 5) VS Michael (2–2) (East 3)

I traded Jonathan Taylor. After Taylor’s poor performance last week I thought it was time to pull the plug. I realize it’s very early in the season to do this, but I’m 1–3 and I needed to shake things up. I traded Taylor and Romeo Doubs to Alejandro for another struggling back in Najee Harris and Tyler Boyd. I believe Harris will be able to pick it up eventually and his pass catching abilities made me feel safe about making the trade. So Najee will be starting for me this week. I don’t love him against Buffalo, but I’m gonna take my chances. I do love Derek Carr and Nick Chubb this week. They should carry my team. That being said I don’t feel comfortable with the rest of my team. Both my receivers are boom or bust and Curtis Samuel declined last week. Thankfully, my opponent has a lot of bad matchups. Christian McCaffrey should be limited against a good 49ers defense and Diontae Johnson should struggle against Buffalo. Unfortunately, Lamar Jackson will play well against the Bengals and I believe Mike Williams and Alvin Kamara will have big weeks. I think my misery will continue. Michael wins a close one.

Kyle (2–2) (West 2) VS Alejandro (3–1) (West 1)

In our primetime game of the week we have a West Division matchup between Alejandro and Kyle. Kyle already has a disappointing performance from Jerry Jeudy and I can see Amon-Ra St. Brown and Kyler Murray struggling this week. George Pickens gets his first start of the season against Buffalo and I don’t know if I can trust him, especially with Kenny Pickett throwing to him. I love both running backs and Travis Kelce will perform admirably. Alejandro is going without Jonathan Taylor this week, since he’s injured, and will instead play Devin Singletary. I can’t see Singletary playing well this week and Ceedee Lamb might also have a down day against Jalen Ramsey. I love Chris Olave with Michael Thomas out and Miles Sanders is gonna have a big game against Arizona. Goff will put up decent numbers against the Patriots and Mike Evans should have a big game against Atlanta. Both teams have tough matchups, but I’m gonna give the edge to Alejandro. Alejandro wins by a thread.

--

--

Billy Wood
2nd Take

Sports writer and podcaster. Runs podcasts “2nd Take” and “The Scouting Board”. Specializes in Boston sports and football.