DeAndre Hopkins is Back: Week 7 Fantasy Predictions

Billy Wood
2nd Take
Published in
5 min readOct 22, 2022

Let me start this off by saying that I’m sorry I didn’t publish predictions last week. I was away and was too lazy to actually put a full article together. That being said, if you follow my twitter (@SportsRepBilly) you would’ve seen I put my predictions up there. Since I missed last week, let me update you on my predictions record. I went 3–2 in Week 5 and replicated that by going 3–2 again in Week 6. Finally getting positive records, unlike my actual team…….(1–5). This week is a crucial week for me, Meeks, Alex, and Sam. One more loss for any of us pretty much spells the end of our seasons. The league has had a pretty wide gap and hopefully some returns around the midseason mark will lead to some change in how the standings are structured. Without further ado, let’s get into these predictions.

Season Prediction Record: (8–7)

Meeks (1–5) (West 5) VS Dan (5–1) (East 1)

I’m happy to announce that I was correct about Ethan finally upsetting Dan in Week 5. Everyone in the league has now taken a loss. The unbeatable has fallen. Despite that, Dan totally has this game in the bag. Dan will be missing Josh Allen, Gabe Davis, and Dallas Goedert to bye, but David Njoku has looked amazing, Sutton will be fine, and Brady should be serviceable against a tanking Carolina. Chase and Hill should also have field days against bottom 30 defenses. Breece Hall has also been impressive lately. Meeks will be missing Dalvin Cook, Stefon Diggs, and AJ Brown to bye. This leaves an atrocious WR group (Chase Claypool and Hunter Renfrow) along with an unreliable RB group (Jamaal Williams and AJ Dillon). Kenneth Walker could have a big day, but I see every other player getting shut down. Dan wins big.

Alex (2–4) (West 3) VS Aidan (5–1) (East 2)

I mean come on. Do you really think Alex has any chance in this game. He currently hasn’t adjusted his lineup, but when he does he’ll have Jakobi Meyers at WR, a waiver wire at QB, and a waiver wire at kicker. I would’ve picked Aidan if Alex’s whole lineup was available, but it’s gonna be even more ugly with the byes. Both RBs are horrible and DJ Moore can’t be trusted anymore. Aidan has Burrow against Atlanta, Josh Jacobs against the worst rushing defense in the NFL, and Deebo Samuel against the 28th worst passing defense. Aidan’s team is proven and will run all over Alex’s team. Aidan wins by every point available in the entire universe.

Me (1–5) (East 5) VS Sam (1–5) (West 4)

I’ve picked against myself the last two weeks. I have been right both times. Thankfully, I’m feeling a bit more confident about this one. Sam had a great performance out of Eno Benjamin, but I matched him with the return of DeAndre Hopkins and had a great performance out of the Cardinals defense. Sam will get a good day out of Jaylen Waddle, but I can’t say the same about Tony Pollard or Brandin Cooks. James Robinson also can’t be trusted against a good Giants rushing defense. Additionally, Sam will be starting Matt Ryan this week. This week Pat Friermuth returns to my lineup against a 23rd ranked Miami defense, with Najee Harris also looking to maybe have a breakout against that same defense. Nick Chubb should return to form against Baltimore and my Seattle players should have a good time against the Chargers defense. I picked up Brandon Aiyuk to be my flex this week if Keenan Allen can’t go. I feel good about getting at least 10 points from either player. My team is starting to finally get healthy. I think I might go on a little run here. I beat Sam by 10.

Kyle (3–3) (West 2) VS Ethan (4–2) (East 4)

This matchup between Kyle and Ethan is pretty even. As of right now they look like the two teams that will be fighting it out for the 4th and final seed of the playoffs. Kyle only got 17 points out of Kyler Murray and that might be something that bites him at the end of the week. Ethan is trotting out Justin Herbert and Austin Ekeler against an exposable Seattle defense, while also having his other two backs in favorable matchups. I love Michael Pittman against the 31st ranked Tennessee secondary, especially after Pittman’s performance last week. The only things I’m concerned with in Ethan’s lineup is Terry McLaurin and the 49ers defense. Fortunately for Ethan, I’m very concerned with Jerry Jeudy, Tyquan Thornton, and Amon-Ra St. Brown for Kyle. I don’t trust any of Kyle’s receivers this week. I love the rest of his lineup, but I don’t think that will get him to the finish line. Kyle falls under .500, Ethan wins by 15.

Primetime: Alejandro (4–2) (West 1) VS Michael (4–2) (East 3)

In our Primetime game of the week, we have Alejandro against Michael. Alejandro lost Hollywood Brown to injury last week, but I don’t think he’s gonna have much problem replacing him. Alejandro has the Dallas 3-headed monster all starting against a bad Detroit defense. I expect all 3 to have big games. Mike Evans should have a big game against Carolina and Tyler Lockett should bounce back against the Chargers. Jonathan Taylor concerns me against Tennessee, but the rest of the team should be able to carry the load. The Jets defense going against Denver and backup QB Brett Rypien should also have a field day. Michael looks to match this lineup pretty well. Lamar Jackson will tear up this Cleveland defense and Leonard Fournette will look great against Carolina. Alvin Kamara already put up 17 and Zach Ertz put up a serviceable 6. That being said, I don’t love Christian McCaffrey in his 49ers debut, since Kyle Shanahan said he would only be used in limited packages. Mike Williams also scares me if Keenan Allen is active. I think the game will be close, but Alejandro will pull it out in the end. Alejandro by 5.

--

--

Billy Wood
2nd Take

Sports writer and podcaster. Runs podcasts “2nd Take” and “The Scouting Board”. Specializes in Boston sports and football.