I Finally Won Again and It’s Not the Last Time: Week 8 Fantasy Predictions

Billy Wood
2nd Take
Published in
8 min readOct 30, 2022

That’s right. I won my first fantasy game since week 2, just like I predicted. Now you might be thinking I’m completely screwed since I am still 2–5 in a division with every team over 5 wins, but thanks to bye weeks and convenient scheduling, I might just be able to pull off the miracle finish. We have officially crossed into the second half of the season and we can pretty much write off three teams already. Meeks at 1–6 is completely dead. Sam (It’s a shame Jalen Hurts is stuck on that wretched roster) at 1–6 is dead. Finally, Alex at 2–5 is dead, but only because his roster will cause him to never win another game. So that leaves 7 teams left in contention for the league title. Me, Kyle, Michael, Ethan, Alejandro, Aidan, and Dan are the only real ones looking at the playoffs. Aidan and Dan are pretty much guaranteed at this point, with both standing at 6–1. Alejandro only has to worry about the 3–4 Kyle to take the 2 seed from him cause his division sucks and hopefully this week I can help Alejandro lock that spot up. Then that leaves Ethan at 5–2, Michael at 5–2, and me at 2–5 to fight for the 4 seed. If I can string together a series of wins, I’m gonna need some teams to help me out and beat Ethan and Michael a few times, but I think it can happen. Watch out cause the chase for the 4 seed is gonna be absolutely wild. With that said, let’s get into the predictions.

Season Prediction Record: (12–8)

Last Week: (4–1)

Michael (5–2) (East 3) VS Sam (1–6) (West 4)

This game is extremely sneaky. Now I know I said Sam is dead, and I still stand by that, but that doesn’t mean he’s as dead as Alex (Alex won’t win another game all season). There is still room for Sam to win a few more games, but by no means does that mean he’s going to the playoffs. Anyway, Michael had a tough performance from his defense and I think every flex eligible player for Sam can match Leonard Fournette’s 14.8 points. Michael will be putting in Drake London for Mike Williams and with the Falcons lack of passing, I can’t trust Drake London in a PPR league. I like CMC and Alvin Kamara, but they will have to carry Michael’s lineup if he wants to put up a lot of points. Lamar Jackson did pretty well with 21 points, but Sam has Jalen Hurts and I have an itch Hurts is gonna tear up that Pittsburgh defense. I love Deandre Swift in his return against Miami and both receivers will look to have big days in favorable matchups. Cooper Kupp should have a big day as usual and the Dallas defense should tear apart a Bears offense that I expect will go back to it’s terrible form. I can’t believe I’m saying this but…………Sam beats Michael by 10.

Ethan (5–2) (East 4) VS Alex (2–5) (West 3)

This game is a completely different story. Like I said in the previous 2 sections, Alex is dead. Russell Wilson sucks and is still insufferable, I think and hope he gets destroyed against the Jaguars in jolly old England. Melvin Gordon is basically a second string RB at this point and David Montgomery should struggle against Dallas. DJ Moore might have a good day after his resurgence last week, but he’s still unreliable and QB questions plus facing an elite secondary is going to severely hurt Jakobi Meyers production. Amari Cooper will have a good game, but Alex doesn’t have a backup defense. Ethan will start Kirk Cousins against Arizona which I actually think will go pretty well and I love both of his receivers. Pitts should have a decent day against the Panthers and expect Dameon Pierce to destroy the Titans defense. Rhamondre Stevenson will get plenty of work with how the Patriots run their offense and Joe Mixon should continue his positive production. Ethan is going to win this by so much I won’t even put a number to it.

Aidan (6–1) (East 2) VS Meeks (1–6) (West 5)

This is another game where it’s gonna be way closer than it should be. Aidan already got 8 points out of Justin Tucker, but Brett Maher should be able to replicate the same for Meeks. Deebo Samuel is out this week so Aidan is going to have to start an unreliable Christian Kirk. I love Joe Burrow and Tee Higgins against Cleveland. Keep in mind Tee Higgins is now the #1 receiver on the Bengals with Jamar Chase injured. Higgins should be putting up 20 pieces the next few weeks. Josh Jacobs should dominate the Saints and Davante Adams will be his usual self and put up great numbers. Kittle should also have a really nice day. What I’m concerned about is the start of Jeff Wilson. Aidan has a bit of a running back problem and it’s either Wilson or Clyde Edwards-Helaire. Wilson is going to have very limited snaps with CMC becoming the true #1 back and shouldn’t have much value. This makes Aidan very vulnerable. Meeks counters this vulnerability with a red hot Kenneth Walker who won’t slow down, Dalvin Cook in a great matchup against Arizona, and a PPR machine in Jamaal Williams. All should have very good days. Dare I say Kenneth Walker 25+. Stefon Diggs and AJ Brown is still one of the best wide receiver duos in the league and both will pop off. I also love Daniel Jones against Seattle. Darren Waller is the only thing that irks me here. I’m going to say this is another upset and probably the biggest one all season. Meeks wins an extremely close game (probably within 3 points) to take down Aidan.

Me (2–5) (East 5) VS Kyle (3–4) (West 2)

Kyle hasn’t had a great past few weeks and that’s because his lineup is very vulnerable. Jerry Jeudy is extremely unreliable and disgruntled. I don’t love him against Jacksonville. The same can be said about Amon-Ra St.Brown. With his poor performance last week, I don’t expect a ton from him, especially when DeAndre Swift is back in the lineup. George Pickens should have a good game, but he has to deal with an elite Eagles secondary and Aaron Jones should be stonewalled against an elite Bills run defense. Henry will have too and will carry Kyle with his game against Houston. I expect Henry to drop a 30 piece on me here. Mike Gesicki should also have a good day against Detroit. Despite those positives, I do expect Kyler Murray to struggle against Minnesota. For me, I’m starting and love Derek Carr against New Orleans. I’ve decided to choose week by week between Geno Smith and Carr. Both are on the same level and I think it’s best I just play it by matchup. Nick Chubb will play great as usual and Najee Harris may give me some trouble, but I think he will at least get 10 points. I love both of my receiver matchups (thrilled to get Devonta Smith back after the bye) and I can see Kenny Pickett going to Pat Friermuth a lot with his other receivers being blanketed. I just picked up D’Onta Foreman and he will be my flex this week over Curtis Samuel, Brandon Aiyuk, Tyler Boyd, and Kareem Hunt. Aiyuk played really well for me last week, but I have a great feeling with Foreman since Chubba Hubbard is hurt and won’t be splitting carries with Foreman. With Foreman getting 15 points last week, who knows what he’ll have with a full workload. I think I’m gonna take this one and get my biggest win of the season. Me in a close one.

Primetime: Dan (6–1) (East 1) VS Alejandro (4–3) (West 1)

For the third straight week, Alejandro is in the primetime game of the week. I mean Alejandro is good and he has a good schedule. I didn’t plan this to work out like it is, but hey it is. For Dan, I love Josh Allen against Green Bay. The Packers have sucked as of late and I think Allen will expose them. Saquon should have a monster day against Seattle, but I hate Raheem Mostert against Detroit. I don’t think Mostert will have anything worth while. Tyreek Hill should play very well against a bad Detroit secondary and Gabe Davis is very boom or bust. I think Dan’s performance is going to depend on how Gabe Davis plays, and unfortunately I think this is more of a Stefon Diggs game for the Bills. Courtland Sutton should have a good game against Jacksonville and Dallas Goedert will have average tight end production against Pittsburgh. Tampa Bay’s donut performance will hurt Dan. For Alejandro, I love Dak Prescott against Chicago. I think this is the game where Dak really comes back to form. I also think Miles Sanders and Jonathan Taylor have big days against favorable opponents and Chris Olave looks pretty good against the Raiders. Mark Andrews was a bit of a letdown, but I don’t expect that much more from Goedert and Mike Evans already put up a good performance. CeeDee Lamb will be along for the ride of the Dak Prescott revival game, and will play a big part in it. Don’t be surprised if Lamb scores more than Evans this week. The one sneaky performer on Alejandro’s roster is the Eagles defense. I expect many Kenny Pickett interceptions so it could be a huge day for the Eagles defense. Yup I’m gonna do it again. Alejandro pulls another upset in the week of upsets. Alejandro wins by 10 points.

--

--

Billy Wood
2nd Take

Sports writer and podcaster. Runs podcasts “2nd Take” and “The Scouting Board”. Specializes in Boston sports and football.