It’s Already Comeback Season: Week 3 Fantasy Predictions

Billy Wood
2nd Take
Published in
7 min readSep 23, 2023

Welcome back to fantasy predictions. If you have never read or seen one of these before let me fill you in, in fact, for the people that have, you should listen up as well. Every week, I will give out my predictions for my fantasy league. Yes, I know, “why should I care about your fantasy league?” Well, you really should not, but you are still reading this right? Boo. Ha got you.

Anyways, I have some changes from last years predictions. This season we have split the college league in two. What do I mean by that? Well, there are now two leagues. The original normal PPR league and now introducing……a dynasty league! That’s right, it will go on for the rest of eternity. Once this rock we call home goes up in flames, my roster will still be just as bad and probably lose in the ether because I benched Brandon Aiyuk’s great grandson cause I’m a dumbass.

Due to this switch up, you will never see predictions for the regular league. I know, very sad, but it has taken a backseat to the Dynasty league. Since the Dynasty League has so much more focus and effort in it, I feel it will be better to focus on. Plus we have some new additions to the league.

Miles, Nate, Vincent, and James are all new here. Say hi! They will all be falling to me in many future championship games.

In all seriousness, they have been pretty good in these first few weeks, and I have had less than desirable results, but we will save that for later.

Without further ado….let’s get into this.

Season Prediction Record: (0–0)

Last Week: (0–0)

Alejandro (1–1)(Madden 2) VS James (1–1)(Madden 3)

Alejandro and James have an interesting matchup this week. Alejandro is going with Zack Moss and Kyren Williams at running back. Two guys off waivers that are filling in for the questionable Aaron Jones and now departed Dameon Pierce. I understand Pierce has not surpassed 7 points in either of his first two weeks, but the potential was shown last season and he’s only 23. Alejandro traded Pierce for a package of Jamaal Williams, Tank Bigsby, and a 2024 3rd round pick. Williams I don’t think carries any value past this season, Bigsby can only do as much as Etienne allows him, and a 3rd round pick probably won’t end up earning much. Hate the move with this little depth at the position. That being said, I like Williams against Cincinnati with Cam Akers being traded, freeing up space for Williams to be the main back. I don’t love Moss against a tough Baltimore run defense, but other than that I like how it looks this week. Jalen Hurts should make easy work of the Tampa defense and both receivers should eat. I actually love the two tight end lineup being ran here. I think Hunter Henry will have a big day with the Patriots looking more to the middle of the field with Sauce Gardner locking up the Patriots outside receivers. James’ lineup leaves a lot to be desired. The only thing I really feel confident in being a positive is Kirk Cousins beating up on the Chargers. Joshua Kelly will have to split time with Austin Ekeler and Breece Hall’s usage is still questionable. I like Amon-Ra St. Brown and Zay Flowers, but Kyle Pitts and Jayden Reed will almost definitely have a single digit week. I have Alejandro taking this one by double digits.

Dan (0–2)(Madden 6) VS Vincent (1–1)(Madden 5)

I think it’s pretty clear that Dan has abandoned the league. Free win for Vincent then, who put up 154 points last week. Absolutely insane. Love Deandre Swift and James Cook here. Tyler Lockett and Hollywood Brown are tough ones, but Tee Higgins should have a field day and Patrick Mahomes will most likely have over 30 against a dreadful Bears defense currently in turmoil. Dak Prescott and Derrick Henry are the only bright spots I can see for Dan, everything else is horrible. Vincent moves to 2–1 with a win most likely by 30+.

Mike (1–1)(Lombardi 3) VS Alex (0–2)(Lombardi 5)

Alex has also completely abandoned the league it seems, and thus back to the basement of the league he goes. Common practice over there. Mike has an absolutely ugly stable of running backs with Clyde Edwards-Elaire and Devin Singletary heading the front of the lineup. I actually think Edwards-Helaire will be serviceable here, but Singletary will do next to nothing. Lamar Jackson should have a 20+ point day and Stefon Diggs always has a great day when playing Washington, expect 20+. Deebo Samuel already did more than enough and Michael Thomas I think will have 15+ against Green Bay. Mike Evans should have his hands full against Philadelphia and I don’t expect Najee Harris to get off his feet this week. I see a good week from Josh Allen, Mike Williams, and Garrett Wilson, but the absence of an RB1 and big days expected from anyone will damage Alex’s chances. Mike by 8 points.

Me (0–2)(Lombardi 6) VS Miles (1–1)(Lombardi 4)

I know I have played extremely bad the first two weeks, but last week if it wasn’t for Pat Friermuth scoring less than two points, I would’ve won. That being said I have a good feeling about this week. I like Geno Smith against Carolina despite the rain and I think the Bengals will go heavy to the run game against the Rams. Rhamondre Stevenson will do what he has, a solid 13 points and CeeDee Lamb will have a hige day against Arizona. DJ Moore will be playing due to Jaylen Waddle being out this week. I don’t love Moore against the Chiefs but I think he will at least clear 10. I expect Friermuth to bounce back against the Raiders and Puka Nacua shouldn’t see his targets go down, so he’s a lock for at least a 20 bomb. On the other side, Justin Herbert will drop 25 on Minnesota but I think both Javonte Williams and James Connor will struggle. Tyreek Hill will be all over the ball for Miami, but Christian Watson and Cole Kmet shouldn’t have big days. Thus, the boy will be back in the win column. Me by 15.

Nate (2–0)(Madden 1) VS Sam (1–1)(Madden 4)

Nate might just be screwed, and that’s a shame because aside from Daniel Jones, I think his team is pretty good. I love Justin Jefferson and Chris Olave to both go over 20 and I think Nico Collins will find the end zone once again. Both Dallas players should have success against a mediocre Arizona defense and I think Jahmyr Gibbs will be used even more week by week. On the other side, I don’t see Justin Fields being able to do much against an improved Chiefs defense, but I think he will be serviceable. I’m thinking like 15 points. CMC already did his job and I think Josh Jacobs will add to that with a healthy 20 points. Sam is also running the odd double Tight End move, and I like this one as well. Travis Kelce should be dominant against the Bears and TJ Hockenson has proven himself to be a top fantasy Tight End thus far this season. Especially against a bad Cahrgers defense, Hockenson should eat. Don’t love Sam’s wideouts, but they will give him the bare minimum and that will be enough. The only unbeaten in the Madden division falls. Sam wins by 5.

Primetime: Aidan (2–0)(Lombardi 2) VS Meeks (2–0)(Lombardi 1)

PRIMETIME! YEAH! Meeks has somehow turned into one of the best teams in the league and Aidan is still good as usual. Unluckily, these were the first two teams I had to face. Probably explains my record. Anyway, I love Trevor Lawrence against Houston and Bijan Robinson should beat up on the Lions defense, especially after his performance last week. AJ Brown and George Pickens should both have 15+. Pickens is finally getting targeted and against a poor Vegas secondary, I don’t see why he shouldn’t go off. I don’t love Rachaad White against that tough Eagles run defense and Jerome Ford should be alright but newly acquired Kareem Hunt should eat into his snap count. On the other side, Joe Burrow still concerns me and against the Rams I don’t know if he’s gonna have it in him to put up good numbers. Saquon isn’t going to play so Meeks will be forced to start Jerick McKinnon who I don’t have great trust in, but Travis Etienne should have over 20. Keenan Allen and Devonta Smith will both have bright days and if Deandre Hopkins is good to go he will also perform well. Darren Waller’s 5 point performance could be detrimental though, as I believe Evan Engram will perform into the mid teens. Aidan wins in primetime to become the only remaining undefeated team.

--

--

Billy Wood
2nd Take

Sports writer and podcaster. Runs podcasts “2nd Take” and “The Scouting Board”. Specializes in Boston sports and football.