My Fantasy League is So Mediocre: Week 4 Fantasy Predictions

Billy Wood
2nd Take
Published in
6 min readSep 29, 2022

This year is the first year of a brand new fantasy football league I created for my high school buddies and I, so we could still fight over sports while being all across the country. The league has been named “The God College League” because we aren’t very creative with names and who cares about the name when we just want to play some fantasy football? Anyway, this is a more lighthearted thing I’m gonna try writing each week. This will be a commentary on each game taking place in the league each week. I will voice my predictions on who will win and it will just be a good time talking about fantasy football. If I’m gonna be real with you though, it’s mostly so I can make fun of my friends teams on a public platform. They don’t have to know that though! Alright, let’s get into the first game of the week 4 slate.

Aidan (2–1) (East 3) VS Michael (2–1) (East 2)

This game is a very important game in the East division. In one corner we have Aidan. Aidan is always extremely good or tremendously bad. There is no in between. This year it looks like he’s gonna be good. His wide receiver core is actually scary good, for example he currently has Deebo Samuel benched. His running backs on the other hand leave something to be desired, along with Joe Burrow looking pretty unpredictable. Why he touched Edwards-Helaire, I have no idea. Everyone knew he wasn’t gonna be a starting quality RB, he was just the sucker that took him. Also, what are you doing with the Texans defense Aidan? That’s insane bro. Michael’s team is very strong which has been a thing with him the past few years. Michael used to be consistently the worst team in fantasy football, although the past few years he has turned into one of the best. Michael has Lamar Jackson, CMC, Kamara, and Fournette. His rushing attack is off the charts. Mike Williams against Houston and Diontae Johnson against New York are also great plays. I see Michael taking this one for sure. Aidan’s running backs leave too much to be desired and Michael’s team is stacked across the board. Aidan if you are reading this……dear God please get rid of the Texans defense, what are you thinking dude?

Alex (0–3) (West 5) VS Sam (1–2) (West 3)

This next matchup is a slugfest between two teams that have left a lot to be desired. First off, Alex’s team has been an absolute joke and he has failed to make any adjustments. Alex’s team hasn’t been unlucky either, it just sucks. Last week he scored 63 points with a fully healthy lineup! 63 POINTS! How is that even possible in PPR. I have a joke team of all Patriots players in a separate league and even they managed to score over 70. I have no trust in Russell Wilson, David Montgomery, or Javonte Williams. Montgomery only scored 1.1 points last week. All three are way too inconsistent and when your QB, RB1, and RB2 all suck, your team is doomed from the start. I like Cooper against Atlanta but Jefferson might be limited against Marshon Lattimore and Mayfield has failed to find a connection with DJ Moore. Sam’s team is a very impressive one in my opinion. Jalen Hurts and James Robinson should be able to continue their dominance and Kupp, Waddle, and Cooks is dangerous. I don’t love James Conner, but the rest of the roster should take care of it. Sam by a million.

Meeks (1–2) (West 4) VS Alejandro (2–1) (West 2)

I gotta be honest, I’m extremely surprised Meeks has been able to put together such a good team. Meeks even stole Jamal Williams off waivers this week…..before I could get my hands on him. He’s zeroed in, and I never really expected he would be this engaged. To me Meeks is the surprise player in the league I have to worry about. Meeks shines at receiver with AJ Brown and Stefon Diggs. Mahomes and Dalvin Cook bring more nightmares to the league. Michael Carter has been surprisingly good and AJ Dillon has been so so (I’d start Jamal Williams if I were you Meeks). Alejandro also has a pretty good team and that was something I expected. Quick plug: Alejandro also writes really good sports articles on here, search Alejandro G and give him a follow! Anyway I like Harris and Sanders against average defenses. Hollywood, Garrett Wilson, and CeeDee also have very favorable matchups. Alejandro has also been rocking with rotational QB’s. I like his choice of Jared Goff vs Seattle here. The Lions have been putting up points and I don’t see Seattle as much of a threat here. I think this is going to be a really close game but I see Alejandro taking this one. Although, Meeks playing the Steelers defense against the Jets could turn into a 20 bomb.

Me (1–2) (East 4) VS Ethan (1–2) (East 5)

Finally I get to brag about myself! Nah, if I have to be honest my team this year has been a bit of a letdown. I’m on my third QB in four weeks. I started Matthew Stafford week 1 (We know how that went) and Derek Carr the past two weeks. I’m bringing in Trevor Lawrence this week to hopefully find a good starter for the rest of the season. I love Nick Chubb vs Atlanta and I’m pretty comfortable with Devonta Smith and Keenan Allen’s matchups. Curtis Samuel has been the man lately so I’m not too concerned with him, but Jonathan Taylor the past two weeks has been unreliable as hell. Him, Lawrence, and Friermuth will make or break this game for me. Thankfully, I’m not that scared of Ethan’s team. McLaurin hasn’t been the number 1 receiver in Washington (I have Curtis Samuel) and Allen Robinson is very inconsistent. Mixon and Ekeler have also been a little inconsistent thus far. Pittman does scare me a lot and if Pitts decides to score a touchdown, he could beat me up pretty good. That being said, Ethan’s team is way too inconsistent. I’m fairly confident I’m getting back to .500.

Kyle (2–1) (West 1) VS Dan (3–0) (East 1)

If fantasy football had primetime games, this would be it. The #1’s in each division will be facing off against each other this week. Dan has an extremely well performing team, and to be honest, I thought his team was one of the worst after the draft, I was pretty wrong. It’s criminal that this man has Chase and Hill, while still carrying Josh Allen and Saquon Barkley. Barkley actually ripped my heart out last week. Sutton has suddenly become more consistent and Breece Hall is somehow managing to put up over 10 a game while splitting carries with Micahel Carter. Goedert is also a sneaky good Tight End. Kyle’s team isn’t as daunting. Kyle has a three headed monster at RB with Henry, Jones, and Cordarrelle Patterson. Amon-Ra and Travis Kelce have also been beasts. Kyler is a pretty good QB as well, he can go off at any minute. I think this is gonna be a pretty tight game, but I think Dan will move to 4–0. Dan’s team is better and has easier matchups this week. Nearly all of Kyle’s players are playing tough defenses, and I don’t think he’s gonna be able to get around that. Good job Dan, your team is a little too good for my liking.

--

--

Billy Wood
2nd Take

Sports writer and podcaster. Runs podcasts “2nd Take” and “The Scouting Board”. Specializes in Boston sports and football.