CAT TALES

The Tales of Two Cats

When Kimchi meets Kimbap

Mika Oka
3 Cats Café
Published in
5 min readAug 16, 2023

--

With the dogs gone, Kimchi seems lonesome.

My condition has improved a bit.

I think we can manage to have one more cat, as a companion for Kimchi.

We spent half a day walking around SPCA, surrounded by many cats, but none caught my eye or felt right for me.

As we were leaving, my partner discovered a quieter, separated, and gated area. It was unlocked, though I knew we weren’t supposed to enter, we did it anyway.

I would really appreciate it if you could please stay on the page 
for at least 30 seconds to help me support my work as per Medium's new changes.
How could one not be charmed by this? Photo by author.

Inside, a cat was making noise and rubbing against the cage. It seemed to beckon us, and in that moment, I decided this would be my Kimbap.

The names were pre-selected long before we found Kimchi. I simply wanted a pair of cats named Kimchi and Kimbap, regardless of their gender.

Kimbap wasn’t ready for adoption yet; I wasn’t sure of the reason, but I could guess it now. Approval from the in-house vet was required, leaving me anxious and waiting.

During the wait, a family entered the area with a box of kittens. Abandoned by their mother at just…

--

--

Mika Oka
3 Cats Café

Sharing her unique perspective on the world as a hearing-impaired autistic person with bipolar disorder despite the challenges. emikaoka.wordpress.com/home/