Bald Is The New Mullet

Charley Warady
3 Minute Bits
Published in
3 min readDec 19, 2017

Comedians go bald but rock stars don’t. It’s not right

The good ol’ days

During much of my comedy career, I had long hair. I had grown my hair long because I could. It was past my shoulders. I loved my hair. My comedy headshot (shown above and, I hope, still by the bathroom entrance at Zanies Comedy Club in downtown Chicago) shows that I loved my hair.

One morning, I woke up and I was bald with a requisite beard, because I was bald. There was no hair on my pillow. It had just either displaced itself to other areas of my body (face, back…..ears) or got sucked back into my cranium.

No hair up top

I looked on Facebook and many of my comedian friends had also, over the years, gone bald. Why comedians? Why not rock stars? They never seem to go bald. What the hell is that all about?

Jerry Seinfeld? Bald

Steven Tyler? Not bald!

I believe, in my day, I drank and did as many drugs as anyone in Aerosmith…so it’s not that. I mean…Jon Bon Jovi does not deserve to have hair.

But Louis CK? He should have hair! Okay, so he may have some more pressing problems these days, but that’s off-topic right now. Comedians deserve to have hair.

It’s often been said that comedians are rock star wannabe’s with no musical talent. Perhaps it all has to do with the ability to keep our hair! If only I had been able to keep my hair, I could be jammin’ with Ron Wood right now. And I’d be much better looking, I might add.

Athletes. They’re the exception to the rule.

Something tells me Michael Jordan still doesn’t give a shit about being bald.

--

--

Charley Warady
3 Minute Bits

A stand-up comedian and author making Stoicism fun. @Medium @Creative Cafe