Get An iPhone, Detective

Charley Warady
3 Minute Bits
Published in
3 min readDec 25, 2017

Why do TV detectives still use flip-phones? Come on!!

The first flip-phone

TV detectives haven’t come far from Maxwell Smart’s shoe phone. I was watching a show the other night and the detective pulled out her flip-phone and answered by saying her last name. Then she asked to whom she was talking. Who does that? We’re hours away from 2018!

The top forensics guy in the world on a flip-phone

CSI, in Miami, or Las Vegas, or New York, has the most futuristic forensic equipment in the world, and yet the city budget doesn’t allow for iPhones? Their flip-phones probably have rotary dials. And they don’t have caller-ID? iPhones have caller-ID! The entire situation screams ‘plot-hole.’ Maybe they’re afraid they’ll have a Samsung and it will spontaneously combust in their pockets. That would be embarrassing.

I remember my first cellphone. It was the size of a pay-phone. My car battery was smaller than the battery on the back of that phone and the charge was good for about a seven minute conversation. I can’t remember exactly, but it may have had a rotary dial. But it was a cellphone, goddamit.

If you put that thing in your suit jacket, you walked around like Marty Feldman in “Young Frankenstein.” Women didn’t fumble around in their bags looking for their phone that is ringing while they’re in the express line at the supermarket and I’m right behind them. It was the only goddam thing they could fit in their bag.

It wasn’t that hard to find.

For a couple extra bucks, I sold advertising space on the side of mine.

So…I guess what I’m saying is…the Hollywood writers have to be a little more creative and catch up with the times. Nobody is buying the idea that Lucifer…the devil himself…is using a flip-phone and he has to ask the caller’s name. (“Oh! Detective! I’ve been expecting your call.” Say it in your head with a British accent.)

When I was a teen, I had my own black trimline phone with a rotary dial located in my bedroom. I had my own phone number. This meant that I almost broke my leg several times while running up the stairs to answer it. Please tell me that on TV, we’ve advanced from that.

Please tell me that on “Law and Order: SVU” Ice-T deserves nothing less than an iPhone X.

--

--

Charley Warady
3 Minute Bits

A stand-up comedian and author making Stoicism fun. @Medium @Creative Cafe