I Do Comedy

Charley Warady
3 Minute Bits
Published in
3 min readJan 16, 2018

Why it’s here and why you should follow the publication

The bit before the segue

First things first. I need you to go to the 3 Minute Bits Homepage and click on the “follow” button. I wouldn’t ask you to do it if it wasn’t so important to me. This is where I am going to place all my articles from now on, so give me some much needed love and become a follower.

When I was doing standup comedy, I usually liked to divide my segments into 3 minute bits. These weren’t necessarily just one joke, but it was a topic which included jokes. I found after 3 minutes, it was time for a segue into another topic. Because this is how I did it on stage, this is also how I wrote it on paper.

Now I use Medium to do what I previously did on a legal pad. Perhaps the Medium Staff should know this is what the publication is about so that it can get the attention it so richly deserves. Standup comedians love attention.

Jim Gaffigan and me performing in Jerusalem

When you become a follower of 3 Minute Bits, you can basically trace the way my mind works. Please don’t let it scare you. Once it’s out there…it’s gone.

On stage where I’m at home

I don’t know if I’ll tour again. I know I won’t stop writing comedy. 3 Minute Bits is where you’ll find it, and why I want you to follow it.

If there are other standup comedians who need an audience for their writing, I invite them to this publication. It’s the best place to be, so let me know.

If you simply want to be entertained daily for 3 minutes, this is the place to be.

If (when?) I hit the road again, I’m sure I’ll write my new act using the material I’ve written in these posts. In the back of my mind I fear that’s why I’m doing it in the first place.

Standup comedians are pathologically starved for attention. Personally, I think it started when I was a baby and I was dropped on my head…repeatedly..on purpose.

Become a follower of this publication.

Please.

Please become a follower of “3 Minute Bits”….Thanks!!

--

--

Charley Warady
3 Minute Bits

A stand-up comedian and author making Stoicism fun. @Medium @Creative Cafe