The Morning After

Charley Warady
3 Minute Bits
Published in
2 min readMar 29, 2018

The adrenaline is gone. The reflection begins.

Home

The adrenaline high. The adrenaline drain. There was a time in my life that that was my weekly routine. It was the life of a standup comedian. Many years ago, while still living in the States, I’d wake up in a hotel room and have to think for a couple minutes before remembering what city or town from which I had just woken.

It’s been a few years since I’ve done standup. I had changed my act since moving to Israel to include life in Israel, comments on the culture, religion, and living in a very foreign country. The act lasted a few very good years.

Then, I got tired of it.

I always wanted to do what I did while living in the States. Generic, funny, standup comedy.

A series of unexplainable events, both physical and mental, made it possible again. It happened last night.

I wrote new material (I hate writing new material). I practiced like crazy (I hate practicing). I went on stage (I love being on stage).

It was a small room, and it was a small “crowd”. But they loved what I did. Even though I left out a couple bits by accident, they still laughed as hard as they used to, and I still felt as comfortable as ever.

Here is a sampling of what it was like:

The only way I can describe it is as being at home. I was back home.

I’m going to write more. I’m going to expand. I’m going to do what I truly believe I was meant to do. At this late stage of the game, I don’t know why I only realize it now. Perhaps, it was because I was away from it and tried to deny it. Try to deny your essence some time. Let me know how it feels.

Last night was great. I think the audience enjoyed it half as much as I did.

--

--

Charley Warady
3 Minute Bits

A stand-up comedian and author making Stoicism fun. @Medium @Creative Cafe