The Ten-Word Story Challenge

An attempt by Gideon 6ix

Gideon 6ix✍️
Thought Thinkers
Published in
2 min readAug 24, 2022

--

Photo by Braydon Anderson on Unsplash

I am honored that several of you chose to include me in the 10-Word Story Challenge — Sam W. being the first. I realize I am a bit late to the party, but here is my offering to satisfy (hopefully) your curiosity.

  1. The slithering serpent snickered a hiss, then consumed us all.
  2. Red awoke from the confounding cloud, then disappeared into mist.
  3. The page painfully crumbled; Paige lamented the last readable word.
  4. The rhythm maker paused, only to skip his last beat.
  5. The sun slept soundly as the last human loudly wept.

I hope my attempt at this was, at least, slightly entertaining. It was a great exercise in being concise while having a bit of fun with wordplay.

Here are some Ten-Word Story Challenge posts by great writers:

--

--

Gideon 6ix✍️
Thought Thinkers

Friend of Medium, Veteran, Poet | Top Writer in Poetry, Sometimes | Stillness is an illusion👀 gideon6ix.com